Eating Clean – How YOU can do it :)

Evening Sweethearts !

Hope you have all had a good start to the week! I had a very busy day at work, and was relieved to come home, change into my PJ’s and just unwind :). Also, I cannot express how much I have been loving blogging .. It is so amazing how you can interact with people all over the world with similar interests, and speak to them as though you have known each other for years.. I want to thank everyone who has taken the time out to read my blog, and leave me such lovely comments.. they mean the world to me!

Anyway, today I wanted to talk about… eating clean! Please don’t run away and hide.. it is not as scary or restricting as you may think. I have been eating clean for almost a year, and I can honestly say I enjoy eating so much, never feel restricted, and have really felt a difference in how I feel!

I am going to give you my top tips, and how I have adapted my eating habits to be as healthy as possible!

WATER WATER WATER

My first tip (and this may the most boring and obvious one) is to DRINK WATER. I can imagine you sighing and muttering “for god’s sake, how many times do people say this”, but TRUST ME, it makes a huge difference. I drink a huge glass as soon as I wake up, and keep a tumbler on my desk at work to ensure I never forget to drink water (the amount of trips I take to the bathroom is ridiculous). I see this as a positive thing though, as my body is ridding itself of toxins, and I can definitely tell a difference when I do not drink enough water. A good way to make sure you remember to drink water is to purchase a cute tumbler or drinking glass, one that you will want to carry around! Also an excellent tip is to add sliced lemon/lime to water.. and your plain water “magically” becomes a detoxifying drink, which will clear your skin, help with bloating and wake you up.. Win!SAM_0867

Eat 5-6 Small Meals Everyday

I feel like I never stop eating during the day, but if you are eating the right things, you can eat every 2-3 hours. I will give you a quick run through of what I eat on a daily basis (this does change ALL the time though.. I am just giving an example :D)

Breakfast – Smoothie (Recipe will be below)

Snack – Apple and Banana

Lunch – Chicken, Tomato and Spinach in Wholemeal Wrap

Snack – Yoghurt with Nuts and Dark Chocolate Chips

Snack – Strawberries and Grapes

Dinner – Chicken, Brown Rice and VegetablesΒ 

Snack – TREAT πŸ™‚

So, as you can see I snack ALOT during they day.. but this is essential in speeding up your metabolism, as it means your body is always working to break down the food you put in your body. If you are putting the right things in your body, it will not slow down and store any excess fat (makes sense right?). I also do not restrict myself, and always have a small amount of (dark) chocolate during the day. The key is portion control, that way you will not crash and binge!

Berries Are Your Besties

Ok, it is such a cheesy title.. but berries are absolutely amazing! In fact any fruit is amazing, but I definitely cannot go a day without eating berries. Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, gooseberries, you name them, I LOVE them. They have so many health benefits and really satisfy any sweet cravings (try strawberries covered in dark chocolate… they are TO DIE FOR). Just fill a little tub with your favourite berries, nuts and dark chocolate chips, and snack on whenever you want! You can also add berries to water, and let the flavours infuse.. it is so refreshing :).

SAM_0882

Switch to Wholemeal πŸ™‚

I think everybody knows that wholemeal is a lot better for you, in foods such as bread, pasta, rice etc. It avoids that “bloated” feeling you get after, and I personally prefer the taste so much more. Just start buying wholemeal alternatives, and trust me you will not regret it, and after a while you will wish you switched over sooner!

SAM_0899

“Drink” Your Fruit/VegetablesΒ 

I was quite skeptical about purchasing a “Nutri-Ninja”, or the ever so popular “Nutri-Bullet”, but once I really got in to my clean eating, and saw it on offer in Argos for Β£70, I though why not? It was literally the BEST decision I ever made.. I LOVE my Nutri-Ninja so much, and use it every single day :). It is such a good way to ensure you get your “5 a day” – although with all the other fruit and vegetables I eat, mine probably goes up to “10 a day” :P.

SAM_0897

I make a smoothie every single morning for my breakfast, with the ingredients below (I do sometimes add additional fruit, but this is my go to smoothie).

SAM_0885I fill half the cup with spinach, putΒ both apples in, put 1 banana in, 2 tablespoons of greek yoghurt, some orange juice, a squeeze of lemon and water. It literally takes me less than 5 minutes in the morning, and makes enough for me and my husband :).

Green Tea – Best Thing EverΒ SAM_0862

Ohhh green tea.. I love it SO much. I am sure you have all heard about “powers” of drinking green tea every day.. and I personally think it helps so much. It speeds up your metabolism, cleanses your body of toxins, makes your skin glow, and helps with bloating. Add a slice of lemon to green tea, and you have a powerful anti-oxidant drink :). I probably have around 3 cups a day :).

So… these are the main tips and advice that have come to my mind… eating clean is such a huge topic, and I would love to make more posts on my recipes/what I eat in a day etc :). I just wanted to also say that, I have a take-away every single week, and always have chocolate whenever I crave it.. It is so important to not deprive yourself, and just eat everything in moderation guys.. that is they key :). I don’t believe in having a strict diet, or a specific “day” where you can eat as many things as you want. Eating clean is a lifestyle change, not just something you do for a week/month.

I feel there is so much more to talk about, this is just an insight into my daily food diary. I will maybe in the future share some recipes/weekly food diaries? Sounds good :D. I have left out my workout routine, as I feel that will be another separate blog post hopefully very soon πŸ™‚

Thank you so much lovelies for reading my blog… Please let me know if you want any more information/tips, and I will surely make another post like this soon! I am going to watch TV for a while, then off to bed as I have work in the morning! Have a lovely evening πŸ™‚

Love,

Saira xx

15 thoughts on “Eating Clean – How YOU can do it :)

  1. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying blogging so much, it’s such an addictive hobby.
    Love these tips, eating a little bit healthier has so many benefits. Just as a side note, try juicing veg more than you do fruit – fruit contains a lot of sugar and when they’re juiced it’s easy for your body to absorb so can cause your blood sugar levels to spike making you hungrier later on. They also only equate as 1 of your 5 a day no matter how much juiced fruit you have because the fibre & good stuff is already broken down.

    Love the rest of your tips though and some scrummy ideas! πŸ™‚
    Michelle x
    michellegleaves.com

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww thank you so much for the advice Michelle ! I know the only vegetable I use in my smoothies is spinach (hehe) But I will try incorporating more veggies (and hopefully put these recipes up too!). Thank you so much for having a read of my blog .. I am glad you enjoyed it! Keep coming back to keep updated ! I will have a good read of your blog too πŸ™‚
      Saira x

      Like

    1. Thank you sweetie! So good to hear that you will be trying some .. It really is easy to incorporate into your life once you start .. I’m sure you will see when you give it a go! Good luck ..and thank you for reading my blog πŸ™‚
      Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much sweethearts ! It’s so lovely that you took the time out to read my post and found it helpful! And I know I am new to the blogging world and love the community that there is! Don’t forget to follow my blog for regular updates, and some healthy recipes soonπŸ˜πŸ˜€ Xx

      Like

    1. Aww thanks Hun! .. I think once you start drinking water everyday you will feel it when you don’t have enough, and will always reach for more! .. Chocolate is always good .. In moderation πŸ˜‰ X

      Like

  2. Fantastic read! I’m really looking forward to cooking and baking more frequently this year – your post will be a big inspiration for this, well done! And I hope you have a Happy New Year X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

