Halloween Cupcakes

Hi Darlings!Β 

How are you all? Hope you have all had a lovely week so far, and are all getting in to the Halloween spirit! I have carved pumpkins, bought some decorations for my desk at work, and of course done some baking! I LOVED the look of other bloggers cupcakes, and just felt so inspired to make my own. So, after work, I drove to B&M and Home Bargains (both of these stores are EXCELLENT for Halloween decorations and treats, and everything is super cheap too!), and picked up some bits up for my cupcakes!

Now, I have to admit, I do love baking but it is very rare that I actually put time aside to do it. However, I thought Halloween would be the perfect opportunity to make some really fun cupcakes! They were also so quick to make, and very easy too! Soo… Lets get on to the recipe πŸ™‚

SAM_2117

Also, this recipe made 12 cupcakes πŸ™‚

Cupcakes:

  • 200 ml Water
  • 85 g Butter
  • 85 g Caster Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 3 tbsp Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 225 g Plain Flour
  • 2 tbsp Plain Cocoa

Buttercream Frosting :

  • 6 tbsp Butter (softened)
  • 175 g Icing Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Milk
  • 2-3 drops Vanilla Essence
  • few drops of food colouring (orange and green)

Decorations:

  • Halloween inspired cupcake cases
  • Chocolate Sprinkles
  • Halloween decorations (chocolate coins, halloween iced toppings)

SAM_2108

SAM_2112

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees/gas mark 4. Line your cupcake pan with 12 cupcake cases.

Add the water, butter, sugar and syrup to a saucepan over medium heat and stir gently, until the sugar has dissolved. Once it has started to boil slightly, reduce the heat and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Then, leave this to cool.

SAM_2109

After, place the milk and vanilla extract in a small bowl, and add the bicarbonate of soda. Stir to dissolve.

In a separate bowl, sift the flour and cocoa, and then add the syrup mixture and the milk mixture. Beat until it is smooth. Using an ice cream scoop, spoon the mixture into the cases.

SAM_2111

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes (do keep a eye on them), and take out once they have risen well and are firm to touch. Leave to cool.

Whilst you are waiting for the cupcakes to cool, it is time to make the frosting. Put the butter in a bowl and beat until it is fluffy. Sift in the icing sugar and beat together well, adding in the milk and vanilla essence. Then separate the frosting in to two bowls, adding green food colouring to one, and orange to the other. Stir well.

SAM_2113

Place the frosting in two separate piping bags, and pipe half the cupcakes with orange frosting, and the other half with green (or however you like). Then, add the Halloween chocolate coins to some, the icing decorations to the others, and a sprinkling of chocolate sprinkles to each one!

SAM_2114

And that is all! See, told you they were easy and quick! They do look so amazing. I love the chocolate coins so much :), they really added so much to the cupcakes. I really hope you give these a go, they tasted like mini chocolate fudge cakes! I took some for the girls at work, who all complimented them, which is always a plus!

Anyways guys, that is it for this blog post .. my next one will be a very exciting one (well for me anyway :D).. I will give you a hint.. it is Autumn inspired, and includes DIY’s… can you guess what it will be?

I hope to see you there! Hope you all have a lovely evening :). Do let me know if you give these yummy cupcakes a go πŸ™‚

Lots of love,

Saira xx

15 thoughts on “Halloween Cupcakes

  1. Baking has always been one of my favorite pastimes.Recently I tried an oreo cupcake recipe and it was unfortunately an utter fail.This recipe is actually pretty simple though I wont get the Halloween decor here I will definitely try making the cupcake with the butter frosting πŸ™‚ And as per your clue about your next post I think its a fall DIY room decor ( fingers crossed )
    http://www.trendstopper.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

