A Day Spent in Holmfirth

Happy Saturday loves!

Hope you have all had a lovely week :). Mine, as usual was spent working and blogging! Yesterday (Friday night), we normally have a takeaway night in, but we actually decided to go out for dinner for a change which is always nice! I actually felt so tired after, and ending sleeping as soon as we got home (whoops!), and woke up at around 11:30pm (crazy Friday night I know :P). I then stayed up for a while and caught up on some blogs, then went back to bed! As I am sure you all know, napping at that time is never a good idea – and resulting in me waking up at 5:30am on Saturday morning, not being able to go back to sleep! So here I am… writing a blog post πŸ™‚

So.. this is going to be a fashion/life catch up post – updating you guys on what I got up to last weekend, and showing my outfit! Now, I am the type of person who loves finding new, cute places to explore, and living in Yorkshire, there are definitely plenty of little villages to have a wander round! So, we googled a few places, and drove on!

We actually ended up in a village called Holmfirth, which ended up being SUCH Β a beautiful, picturesque place. It had SO many little shops and cafes, and was surrounded by the gorgeous countryside! The first shop we went into was AMAZING! It was hidden in a little corner near the canal, and was a vintage furniture shop (I have already decided that when we buy a house I want to buy ALL of my furniture from there).

SAM_2222 SAM_2223 SAM_2225

SAM_2226

I am a lover of all things vintage, so love going in to shops like this, as well as charity shops and boot sales (where you can always find something special!)

We then drove to the actual village of Holmfirth, and had a mooch around the shops there (which I must say were just as amazing!) – and then found the cutest little cafe to have some lunch in!

SAM_2230 SAM_2231

I had a hot chocolate and some homemade crepes, which were SO GOOD. My mum also ordered an amazing platter, which came with 3 bean salsa, hummus, salad and some pitta bread. It was so yummy – I cannot recommend this little cafe enough. The lady that worked there was one of the nicest people I have ever met, and she was so welcoming – I will definitely be visiting it again. The cafe is called “En Route” Cafe – if you are ever around the Holmfirth area, I suggest popping in for a coffee and cake :). At the time, it was also decorated amazingly for Halloween/Autumn, so I can only imagine it will look beautiful around Christmas time :D.

SAM_2258 SAM_2259 SAM_2265 SAM_2267

We then went for a walk around the countryside, a quick drive around the village, before heading back home! It was a lovely way to spend a Sunday – we are going to try and make this a weekly thing, as it is always lovely to venture out into a city/village you have never been and see what it has to offer!

So.. onto the outfit itself.. On Saturday, I had a quick shopping trip, and picked up the most beautiful midi skirts from Primark (I will feature my purchases in my next blog post). I am a huge fan of midi skirts – although a few years back I did not dare wear them as I though I looked like a business women (I blame my age at the time :P). Now that I am slightly older (and wiser, tehehe), I think they are an amazing piece to have in your wardrobe. They definitely add an elegant look to an outfit, but I also will be pairing it with a graphic tee and some converse on casual days!

SAM_2240 SAM_2246 SAM_2247 SAM_2249 SAM_2252 SAM_2281

The skirt is in the most beautiful burgundy shade, and is knitted too! I prefer this so much for the colder months, compared to the standard cotton style. I paired it with my fuzzy jumper which you have seen before (I loved the mix of textures), some black ankle boots, and a patterned hijab. As it got colder later on, I added my over-sized blazer. I wore Rimmel 107 on my lips, and my usual winged liner!

SAM_2279 SAM_2283 SAM_2298

Top – New Look (I think?!)

Skirt – Primark

Boots – Topshop

Hijab – Not sure – probably a little stall

Bag – Next

Lipstick – Rimmel 107 πŸ™‚

Blazer – New Look

And there we have it! I hope you enjoyed this post ladies :). I am now going to get ready to go to a new shopping centre that has just opened up (Ahh exciting :P).. And hopefully pick up some bits and bots that I need. I am not sure what I am getting up to for the rest of the weekend, but I will be taking some outfit photos, and thinking up new blog post ideas :). If you have anything that you want me to blog about, do let me know. By the way guys – I am looking to buy a better camera for my blog photos – any recommendations?

Right lovelies, hope you enjoy your Saturday.. I am over on twitter at @saira1816 if you want to say hello, and also on Instagram on throughtheglitterglass, if you want updates too!

Lots of love,

Saira xo

21 thoughts on “A Day Spent in Holmfirth

  1. You look wonderful, hon, so so cozy and pretty!! Love that little side smile
    It looks like you had a lovely time. How amazing are those little shops with those bits and bobs – I would literally buy everything there lol πŸ™‚
    xox Nadia
    mielandmint.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

