How to: Perfect Christmassy Afternoon♥

Hi my lovelies!

Hope you have all had an amazing weekend! I woke up to no rain today (YAY)… meaning I can take my outfit pictures!! I have also been a little busy this weekend organizing our registry office “wedding”… Me and my hubby have already had our “main” wedding day and our Nikkah done (the Islamic ceremony of marriage).. but we are just not registered yet.. so we will be having that done in January next year! Very exciting times!

Anyway….. I HAVE A VERY FESTIVE POST FOR YOU. I have been planning this post for SO long and am so excited to finally put it up! It is how to have the PERFECT Christmassy afternoon/evening, with festive themed baking, drinks, baths and pamper ideas! It is the perfect afternoon to have in the run up to Christmas, especially on a weekend! Eeeeek I am literally so exciting for you to see this post … And I really hope you try the ideas!

So, put aside a few hours, get some Christmas music playing, and lets have the PERFECT CHRISTMASSY AFTERNOON!

SAM_2720

The first thing that I think is SO MUCH FUN at this time of year is to do some BAKING! I am not a huge fan of mince pies (wish I was though!).. so I tend to avoid baking things with fruit in them.. I am however a HUGE fan of any vanilla/chocolate cupcakes! I thought I would make some standard vanilla cupcakes, but make it festive with different types of frosting and decoration. I also added some sprinkles into the cake mix (hehe!)

Recipe for Cupcakes:

Makes 24

  • 225g Butter (softened)
  • 225g Caster Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Essence
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • 225g Self-Raising Flour
  • 5 tbsp Milk
  • Sprinkles (optional) – as many as you want!
  • Lots of Christmassy sprinkles/decorations

SAM_2787

Method:

Put 24 red cake cases in muffin pans

Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC/Gas Mark 4. Put the butter, sugar and vanilla essence in a bowl and beat together until light and fluffy. Then, add one egg at a time, beating the mixture well after each one. Sift the flour in and fold into the mixture with the milk. If you want to, add the sprinkles in at this stage and mix well. Then, spoon the mixture into the 24 paper cases. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until well risen. Put onto a wire rack and leave to cool for at leas 20 minutes.

SAM_2789SAM_2791SAM_2735

Frosting!

Now, I actually had 4 differant types of frosting. I firstly made some basic buttercream frosting:

Ingredients:

  • 175g Unsalted Buteer
  • 350g Icing Sugar
  • Milk (if required) 1-2tsps

Method: 

Put the butter in a bowl and beat until fluffy. Sift the icing sugar in and beat together until it is well mixed. If the frosting is quite thick, add in the milk. Separate into 3 bowls

Peppermint Frosting:

Add 2 candy canes (crushed) into the frosting (make sure they are TINY.. if the pieces are too big, you will NOT be able to pipe (TRUST ME IT HAPPENED TO ME!). Put the frosting into a piping bag and use a medium star-shaped nozzle. Pipe onto the cupcakes and sprinkle more crushed candy canes on top!

SAM_2800

Cinnamon Frosting:

Sprinkle a TINY amount of cinnamon into the frosting and mix well. Put in the piping bag and pipe the frosting on. Then, sprinkle some cinnamon sugar (sugar mixed with cinnamon) onto the top of the cupcake, and then place some edible gingerbread men on the top! I LOVE THESE! The gingerbread men are from TK Maxx and they are the cutest things I’ve ever seen!

SAM_2796

Chocolate Frosting

Add 2 tbsp of cocoa powder to the frosting and mix well. Add to the piping bag and pipe onto the cakes. Sprinkle crushed candy canes on some, and add the edible sugar decorations on others. Then, sift some icing sugar on the top to make it look like snow! ADORABLE!

Green Frosting

I cheated as this was ready made hehe! Just pipe it onto the cupcakes and add the edible sugar decorations on them.

SAM_2811

So there you have it! Vanilla cupcakes with different types of frosting .. these are just some examples that you can try but there really are so many variations .. so get creative my loves! YOU WILL HAVE SO MUCH FUN!

SAM_2819

Wow.. I bet all that baking tired you out! What better thing to do than have a… LUSH BATH!♥ Before we start to run our bath, I want to show you how you can make the yummiest smelling body scrub EVER! It is so perfect for this time of year.. as it is a WHIPPED GINGERBREAD SCRUB!

HOW TO: Whipped Gingerbread Scrub

You will need:

  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of demera sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ginger (grated)
  • Gingerbread sprinkles

IMG_7173

Put the sugars and oil in a bowl, and use an electric whisk until it is a whipped consistency. Add the spices, ginger and vanilla and whisk until they are blended in. Add to a cute jar, top with little gingerbread sprinkles… and you’re done! All set to use during your bath!

IMG_7177

Quick disclaimer: as this scrub has cinnamon and nutmeg (spices), it may irritate those with sensitive skin. I recommend ALWAYS doing a patch test, with ANY homemade scrub.. I also WOULD NOT recommend this one for your face lovelies.. I think you can guess why :P. If you want some DIY masks that are gentler, have a read of my blog post HERE

 Lush Bath♥

YES.. you knew this would be fitted into our Christmassy afternoon :D. You know the drill guys… lots of candles, face masks, scrubs and some magazines! My FAVOURITE bath bombs to use are Yog Nog and Lord of Misrule.. but you can use WHICHEVER ones you like angels!

IMG_7002

Bet your’re feeling pretty good after your bath right! Now it’s time to put on your coziest PJ’s and make a hot chocolate (check out my blog post HERE for some yummy ideas!)

It is now time to relax… you can put some Christmas movies on and start to wrap your presents!

SAM_2823

That is how you can have the perfect Christmassy afternoon! I can guarantee you will feel very festive after this, and definitely excited for Christmas. I really hoped you enjoyed this post angels… and let me know if you try the cupcakes and scrub! I think the scrub can also make a great DIY gift… I just cannot get over how gorgeous it smells!

Let me know what you thought of this post lovelies! I will see you in my next one!

Lots of Love

Saira xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin ♥

36 thoughts on “How to: Perfect Christmassy Afternoon♥

  1. Wow you are quite a baker , 🙂 Nice to know , btw cupcakes looks yum so does your presentation. While I was on my shopping spree yesterday I found a store here that sells Rimmel range, so I got some stuff 🙂 It reminded me of you that you always mention this brand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh lovely stuff great ideas😊💄💄love the bath stuff😄💝💝💘just in my pjs now with my lovely long dressing gown from m and s😃😃feeling cosy😍😍💤
    Lots of love Aunty Ruby😃🎂💝

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh, I love this! Thank you for sharing. I’ve never been the one to get into the holiday spirit but now I do feel like being more festive! I’m going to definitely need to try out the cupcake recipe. I just have to convert it back to U.S measurements since we don’t use the metric system here. Ahh! Haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is the ultimate perfect Christmassy afternoon hon 🙂
    How cute are your slippers, babe!!! 😀
    Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, I love trying out all the goodness my faves are sharing.
    Little gingerbread men are sooooo cute!
    Also, how exciting is going to be your January, basically more reasons to celebrate love 😉
    xox Nadia
    http://mielandmint.blogspot.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. WOW! You did have a festive day/night, didn’t you?! I love your slippers! So cute! And all of those cupcakes! I want to try the cinnamon & peppermint frostings so bad now! My nana and I are making cookies next week, maybe I can use this post to talk her into making one of the frostings! Wish me luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

