Tips:Charity Shop Shopping♥

Hi lovelies!!!♥

I CANNOT EVEN TELL YOU HOW EXCITED I AM FOR THIS POST! I am literally shaking… I LOVE shopping in charity shops SO much!! BUT before I go onto anything… I want a quick update with you all, OK?

Have you all had a wonderful weekend? What have you been up to? As mentioned in my previous posts.. we went down to Coventry on Saturday as hubby had a hospital appointment.. we then went for some steak and then came home! I managed to take some outfit photos (Yayy!!!).. which obviously I cannot WAIT to show you.. as well as picking up some AMAZING bits from.. yep you guessed it … A CHARITY SHOP!!! I will either do a separate haul showing you these or show you in an outfit post (let me know what you guys would prefer!!). Sunday was just a day spent in my PJ’s taking blog photos (I have been practicing taking flat lays!!), doing my laundry/ironing and catching up on blogs! I think I am also coming down with a cold (nooooo!!).

So.. should we actually get on with this post?!

NOW… Charity shops.. I know what many people think … they are shops with clothes only our grandmas would wear, or just tatty bits and pieces that nobody else wants! Well lovelies let me tell you.. that is SO WRONG!! Trust me… they are absolutely NOTHING like this… set aside a day for shopping.. take note of these tips.. and HAVE A SUCCESSFUL CHARITY SHOP SHOPPING TRIP♥

Find a good shopping place♥

Now.. by this I mean find some charity shops grouped together. Sometimes, there is just one charity shop, then the other is on the other side of town… NOT what we are wanting angels! It is best to go where there are a good 4-5 within walking distance.. this means you can have a good variety of shops to go around.. Yayy!!

Find a good “area”♥

Unfortunately, I do not like to admit this.. but I have found that slightly “wealthier” towns have better stock in their charity shops… Now I am from a town in Yorkshire.. and the charity shops in my city centre are not always very good.. however if I travel 15 minutes out to a quieter village.. I can always guarantee I will find some GEMS!! I am from Yorkshire… so if any of you are also Yorkshire lasses.. try giving towns like Skipton, Halifax, York and Harrogate a look for charity shops… they are AMAZING!!! HOWEVER… do not completely rule out your local charity shops… I have found charity shops in cities are A LOT cheaper and you can (on most occasions) find something special!

SAM_3371

Don’t stick to your own size/gender♥

I cannot stress this enough … if you only stick to your size rail.. YOU ARE MISSING OUT ON SO MUCH!! I usually wear a size 8.. but I always raid ALL the sizes, AND THE MENS RAILS hehe!!! Trust me lovelies.. you can find some AMAZING jumpers/t-shirts (depending on the season!) in the men’s section! Also.. I have bought so many tops/knitted cardigans/jumpers that are a few sizes up.. and had NO problem styling them!

IMG_8069

Take your time♥

Now lovelies.. do bear in mind you will not like EVERYTHING you see.. a lot of it will be weird looking/unflattering bits.. but this is why it is important to TAKE YOUR TIME! Spend as long as you need looking through all the rails.. and I assure you.. you WILL find something special!! I find it best when I go shopping alone for this.. because I know whoever comes with me will get SO fed up, ha!!

Visit frequently♥

Don’t be disheartened if you don’t find anything on one trip, and don’t give up loves. TRUST me… I worked voluntarily in a charity shop for a few months and THEY GET NEW STOCK EVERY DAY! Also.. make sure to have a SPECIAL trip before/after Christmas/New Year, and at the beginning and end of seasons, as this is the time when many people have clear outs! Remember the old (and very cheesy line).. one GIRL’S trash is another GIRL’S treasure (I know the saying is “man”.. but the majority of us are girls here, right loves?).

Don’t spend too much♥

This may be quite a weird point to have .. but I think it is an important thing to remember. Sure, there may be something from Topshop, but if it has a tag of £20… I would probably leave it .. make sure to remember that at the end of the day .. it is second hand! If you think you could pick something up from a “normal” store for the same cost.. it is best to leave it! My general rule is to NOT purchase anything over £8.. although most of the things I purchase are between £1-£6!

Take a look at the homeware/bric-a-brac too♥

It is not all about the clothes lovelies.. make sure to have a peek at their homeware section! I personally think it is heaven for us bloggers… They have everything… cute props, dishes, fairy lights and candles.. AND it is all SUPER CHEAP!! I once also picked up a Yankee Candle in Snowflake Cookie for £5 (!!!!). Also.. if you LOVE DIY’s (like me!!)… don’t be afraid to get creative with what you find. I have spray painted glass jars/photo frames (I will show you below!).. you really can find some amazing bits and then make them your own! BE CREATIVE!

Now .. a few DON’TS…

DON’T – Purchase shoes… it is very rare that you will find a good pair of shoes that will fit you in a charity shop.. also.. I don’t think I am completely comfortable with wearing someone else’s shoes. Clothes.. yes I can handle as I get all mine dry cleaned before wearing.. but shoes.. I don’t think I could go ahead with it!

DON’T – Buy plain tops … you can probably pick brand new ones up in Primark/H&M for the same price (if not slightly more).. it is just NOT worth it lovelies! Stick to buying special, one of a kind pieces!

DON’T – Rush… if you rush, you will probably just flick through the first few rails and give up. You will not find ANYTHING like this lovelies.. TAKE YOUR TIME AND YOU WILL ENJOY IT SO MUCH MORE!

DON’T – Go into a shop that has a weird “smell” .. this sounds GROSS.. but if you notice a weird smell in a charity shop, it is best to AVOID it! All charity shops SHOULD steam their clothes before putting them out (we used to do this in the shop I worked in.. and anything with the slightest stain would NEVER go out)… but I am not sure if all shops follow this. You will know a bad charity shop from a good one.. my FAVES to go into are The British Heart Foundation, Cancer Research UK, Mind and Barnardos … although I ALWAYS love finding new ones!

NOW ARE YOU READY FOR THE MOST EXCITING BIT LOVELIES! Time to see some of my FAVE things that I have picked up from charity shops! Yayy!!!

SAM_3394THIS gorgeous mirror, cute little china dolls, a coaster and a photo frame

Remember I mentioned you could get creative? You see the white photo frame? It was the most HIDEOUS brown colour ever.. and all I did was spray paint it white, and added some glitter paper on the inside! Now.. I use it as a tray to hold all my daily beauty products! WIN!!

SAM_3396

I literally cannot get over how GORGEOUS the vintage handheld mirror is! It came in a set with a matching hairbrush and comb! AND it cost me a whole £1 for the whole set! Wooop!! 😀

SAM_3400

This STUNNING light blue bag (a whole 50p!), and this beautiful knitted jumper, originally from Forever 21.. AND it was only £2.50! These will both me SO PERFECT for springtime!! SAM_3404SAM_3405SAM_3412

Just look at how stunning this cable knit, mustard colour jumper is. I picked it up for £2, and wore it SO much during autumn! You can actually see it styled HERE loves! Also.. the vintage floral scarf was only 10p!!!! I used to tie it to all my handbags, as well as flinging it round my neck for a quick quirky look to my outfits!SAM_3415

So angels … there we have it! Some helpful tips for you to hopefully bear in mind next time you stop by some charity shops! TRUST ME… if you follow these, you WILL find something you love! Make sure to let me know if you have a successful trip!!

That is all for today lovelies.. I REALLY hope you enjoyed it, and found this post helpful!! LOTS OF LOVE TO YOU ALL.. you are all just AMAZING!! I will see you in my next one darlings!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin ♥

46 thoughts on “Tips:Charity Shop Shopping♥

  1. I loved reading this! I used to volunteer in a charity shop with Barnardos and every day we had such cute bits of homeware and clothes brought in. Even had a prom dresses section! This has definitely inspired me to go on a charity shop hunt soon xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OMG. THANK YOU FOR THIS POST. I’ve never been shopping in charity shops before but i’ve been toying with the idea of thrift shops and now i absolutely have to go … the stuff you found was SO CUTE and i love the photoframe DIY x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I used to thrift shop years ago and have found some absolute gems! It’s so fun especially if you go with a friend. Fantastic tips. I agree about the shoes – skip those entirely, but the purses / accessories are fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my, I absolutely LOVE charity shops, they are the best! I can very often be found in my local ones looking for my next fashion fix hehe! My fav stores have to be The British Heart Foundation, Cancer Research UK and The Extra Care Charitable Trust. A few years ago I discovered a beautiful Guess handbag for just £2.50! I couldn’t believe my luck!

    Thank you for sharing such wonderful tips, I’m definitely going to remember everything that you have mentioned when I next go shopping!

    Fantastic post my dear :). El xxxx

    http://www.elsfashionfix.co.uk

    Like

  5. Lovely photos Saira!
    Some great tips too! I totally get what you mean about the smell! Haha
    You’ve found some Amazing treasures! I’m going to do some charity shopping this weekend I think hehe!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Not going to lie but I always tend to avoid charity shops.. After reading this post I’ve completely changed my mind! Love the pink Forever 21 jumper you found! Your blog is really great just followed you on bloglovin xx

    Shelby | shelbylouiseread.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You have inspired me to take a wander down my local high street and browse the charity shops we have! Luckily we have quite a few, I can think of 4 all within walking distance of each other! Great photos too by the way, loving the flatlays ;D

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I loveeeee charity shops! I was in Dumfries at the weekend and my mum and I found five charity shops within a few streets and we were so excited! :’) I bought a men’s checked shirt which seems to be brand new, an annotated copy of Macbeth (I’m a literature student so this was a great find for me!) and a Billy Connolly DVD which only cost 50p! (You can see my finds on Instagram: @_sophiemcn_) I can’t recommend charity shops enough and you can always find things that have come back into fashion for a fraction of the price. I really want to find more good ones near me. Great post!

    moonchildwriter.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww YES I am SO glad I have found someone who loves charity shops as much as me!! You can honestly find the most amazing things there!! I have followed your instagram hun!! I am SO excited for my next shopping trip to them! Make sure to let me know what else you pick up! Thanks for reading lovely! xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

