HOW TO: Work Full Time & Blog♥

Hiya loves!♥

Hope you have all had a fabulous start to the week! Mine has been VERY busy and fun .. but VERY tiring. On Monday – I got up at 4:30AM for a 5 hour coach journey to London – SO tiring but I literally loved every minute of it! I am sure you all know that I went to my first big blogging event yesterday – which you will hear ALL about later on this week lovelies.. so make sure to keep your eyes peeled for that!

I am so excited for this post – because it is definitely something that is SO personal and applicable to me, and I know SO many of you have to deal with this too – and that is…  Keeping up a blog whilst having a full time job! 

Main Picture

Now.. there are two different views that non-bloggers have of us bloggers – and they are.. “Oh, how hard can it be to take a few photos and write a few lines about make-up/clothes” – which I am sure we all know is SO NOT THE CASE.. and this comment can be SO annoying to hear haha! Then we have another.. “Wow.. how on earth do you have time to have a blog with a job etc..”.. this is definitely the question SO many people ask me! So.. perfect opportunity for a post right…… Oh come on let’s be serious ANY opportunity is perfect for a post hehe!

So.. I have been blogging for over 6 months now and usually aim for 3 posts a week… I work full time 8-5, Monday to Friday.. and think I have built up a few tips to ensure I make the most of my time – which means I am always SO happy with every single post I put up… and most importantly, that I enjoy every moment of blogging SO much!

Know Your Priorities

Obviously when you have a job.. you need to completely RULE OUT the hours you are at work and know that your time/mind must ALWAYS be in work mode. At the end of the day loves.. your job is what pays the majority of bills so work must ALWAYS come first… I know it is SO hard but make sure you have your head in the right place whilst at work, and NOT thinking about those beautiful shoes you picked up in the Topshop sale that are just WAITING to be pictured in your next outfit post. I know the struggle girls… but don’t worry – we will talk about making the most of our free time for our blog soon!

Planning

Wow.. I cannot even express to you all the IMPORTANCE of planning. I find it helps to have a “Blogging Journal” – this is my little life-saver when it comes to noting down what posts I am going to write and WHEN I am writing them/scheduling them etc. Unfortunately for us working girlies.. we cannot always think of a post and start writing it straight away.. (boo!!).. SO this is why planning is SO important. Personally, I make a note of the titles of my posts a week ahead, so I always know what I am writing for that week. I used to have a schedule for specific days and what I would post.. however this was a FAIL (haha!).. so now I just blog about whatever I want and put it up on whatever day I want! As long as I know what I am writing for the week – I am good to go!

SAM_3835

Make The Most Of Weekends

One thing that I ALWAYS do on weekends is take ALL my photos for the week ahead.. as we all know the struggles of taking pictures in RUBBISH lighting right? I like to set aside a few hours, get together all my products/blog props, find a GOOD spot and take pictures to my hearts content! ALL my outfit pictures are taken on the weekend too and I normally like to take two OOTD pictures in one go! I know SO many of you are aware of how TIME CONSUMING taking photos can be – so knowing that I have 3-4 lots of pictures ALWAYS helps when blogging! ALSO.. you can bulk write… however I am yet to do this as I much prefer writing my posts the day before I put them up.. I like my blog posts to feel like they are a conversation between myself and you lovely lot.. so if a post was written a week ago, I don’t feel like it has that “personal” touch!. HOWEVER.. it is completely up to you if you like to bulk write…It can definitely save SO much time!

Schedule Tweets

This has been an absolute LIFE-SAVER for me… I know I cannot spend my WHOLE day on Twitter.. as much as I would LOVE TO… so I always schedule tweets for when I am busy working away! This just means that all your hard work you put into your post the night before is still being seen by your lovely readers! It also means that you are not GLUED to your phone whilst you are supposed to be working hehe! My favourite programme to use is Buffer.. I definitely recommend it.. it is SO easy!

See Blogging As “Me Time”

For me.. my blog is my hobby and I absolutely LOVE coming home after a long day at work and either writing up my post, reading other blogs or editing photos! I see it as “me-time”, and I think the second you start seeing blogging as a “hassle” or a “job”.. it can start to be stressful and not enjoyable. Literally girlies.. I LOVE sitting down with a cuppa and just spending a few hours in my little blogging bubble! ALSO.. SO many Twitter chats are in the evening.. so you will be able to take part in SO many of these if you want to wind down after a long day at work! They are the BEST way to network with SO many other bloggers.. I LOVE them and have met SO many of my blogging babes through them!

SAM_3827

Do NOT Compare Yourself To Full-Time Bloggers

Remember – you have other priorities that take up your time on a daily basis – full-time bloggers can use their whole days to put time into their blog/social media/networking.. so you should never compare yourselves to them as there will be quite a difference! HOWEVER.. this is NOT to say your blog cannot be amazing.. OF COURSE IT IS… If you blog because you love it, then your blog will honestly be the best it can be.. regardless of how much time you have to put into it!

It Is OK To Have A Break

Don’t worry if it sometimes gets all too much.. if you need a break, TAKE IT! No matter how much you love your blog… if you just do not feel like blogging, DON’T DO IT. There is nothing worse than typing up a post you are just not 100% happy with, and feeling “forced” to upload it just for the sake of it. If one day… your job has just left you feeling SO tired.. take some time out. Working full time is tiring loves.. we all need time away from EVERYTHING every now and again. Have a lush bath, eat some chocolate, cry a little if you need to, get some well deserved rest.. and wake up the next morning feeling SASSY and ready to get back onto it!

So loves.. that is how I have managed to keep a blog that I am 100% happy with AND work full time too! Of course.. every blogger is different.. so I am SO open to any more tips any of you have! ALSO.. I know SO many of you are still at Uni/School AND have blogs… so I would love to know any tips you have! I also know there are SO many mummy bloggers who juggle work AND kids.. you are AMAZING.. I would LOVE to know how you manage too!! I really hope this post helped you in SOME way… make sure to let me know what you thought darlings!!

Right then angels… I still have another day off work.. before it is back for Thursday.. and then working from home on Friday… Phew! I am lucky to have had such a chilled out week .. I do SLIGHTLY miss the busy-ness of work though (I know call me crazy ha!). I cannot WAIT to put up my next post loves.. it will be ALL about my trip to London AND about the fabulous Blogger_Hangout event I went to!  I will see you there angels?!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin ♥

82 thoughts on “HOW TO: Work Full Time & Blog♥

  1. Love this post! I love planning blog posts and thinking of new ideas, so it makes everything more fun and makes you excited to actually write them. I’ve recently started creating word docs where the whole page is a table to represent a single month. I find it really helps to plan posts because you can a nice month view of what’s going up and if you have things you do monthly (like favourites) you can ensure to always have time to squeeze them in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. so true! i find that i always have 1-4+ blog posts in my drafts, so that way i never have to worry about coming up with content for my weekly posts.
    i used to post 3 times a week like you do, but i’m finding it better to post less, but still weekly. it keeps things easier actually, and better for your readers in my opinion!
    i bought a planner this year (for personal life, school life) and i’m also scheduling my blog posts in there too, and it’s a life saver for sure! planning is key!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. actually, this has given me an idea/inspiration to do a similar type post on my own blog, but talking about it from my perspective, and how i’ve handled juggling all this with school and life. i hope you don’t mind! 🙂 it’ll probably be a few months before i actually even write out the post!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Definitely I like to make sure my readers have time to actually READ my posts.. I am really considering maybe posting twice a week rather than three? I will see how it goes ! Yep planning is literally so so important ! Thank you so much for reading lovely ! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your flatlay pictures are so adorable! Loved reading this; it really helped. I find it tremendously hard to juggle blogging (and I’ve only just started) and school so thank you! I’ve started properly planning out my posts and organising things whenever I get the chance XO

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get the “how hard can blogging be” or “why are you wasting your time with blogging?” statement and its soooo annoying! But yea I need to be more organised with blogging, thanks for the post!
    thepinkandpowerful.wordpress.com Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I plan, plan, plan! I also use the Blogger app on my phone and bullet point posts in it as a draft whenever I have a couple of minutes. That way, when I sit down to write, the scaffold of my post is there 🙂
    I definitely agree about bulk photographing products etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh I so needed to read this post right now! I am in a total slump with blogging and I think it’s because I’m just settling back into full time work. Right now I feel more like reading blogs than writing (don’t get me wrong, reading blogs is like my ultimate fave) but I want to get back into the swing of things. I loved this post, it may well be the boost that I need. Also, the pictures in this post are lovely. xxx

    http://www.moanymouse.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Loved this post… I also work 9-5 but on top of that 3 children under 10! And to top it off I’m a huge procrastinator, which doesn’t help. Definitely taking on board some of these tips!
    Also, I really do need to stop comparing to full time bloggers, so frustrating!
    Kirsty x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I couldn’t tell you enough how much I enjoyed your tips, hon! You are always so real and give the most grounded and fab advice! Juggling blogging and a full-time job isn’t easy, we would know that, right, wouldn’t we? But! It’s doable and it works when we go at our own happy pace. Organisation, planning, making the best of those free few hours is a busy time but very enjoyable and rewarding.
    Comparing ourselves to others is never a good idea, you are so right, especially to full-time bloggers or those wizards who manage to blog every day O.o Kudos to their ability to stretch a 24-hour day into a neverending one lol. But then again, everyone has different circumstances. If they live alone, don’t have gazillions commitments apart from their job, it’s a different story.
    You are amazing at what you do & blogging is definitely a passion for us 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your tips & ideas, sweetie!
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhh NADIA your comments are literally the best thing EVER.. I am SO glad you literally understand exacTly where I am coming from.. we are literally THE SAME PERSON!!! You are so so sweet and kind and I am SO glad I started blogging because it meant I have met someone like you babes !! THANK YOU SO MUCH ! Lots of love! xxx

      Like

  9. This was such a lovely post to read! I think I might need to take up your idea of planning ahead as I always struggle to find time to take photos for my blog!

    And your point about not relating yourself to full-time bloggers was a lovely reminder to not put yourself down! So thanks for that 💕💕xx

    Like

  10. So, so, so excited to hear about the blog event soon! 😀
    Thank you for these tips, I’m trying to take bulk photos in one day when I do need to take photos, and I, like you, like writing posts closer to when I’ll be putting them up.
    Also – I need to get myself onto twitter soon! Adding it onto my to-do list 🙂

    Raashi
    raashiagarwal.blogspot.com.au

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I only started blogging a few weeks ago and I didn’t realise how much time it would take up! I find when you’re working full time it makes it harder to plan posts because you’re focused on work all day and you don’t really get a chance to think about it. I’ll definitely take your advice and start using my journal more to plan posts in advance

    sophiesnotebook.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  12. Oh I’m really bad at day dreaming at work about my blog then work Hahaa! I’ve also started planning and prepping my blog more to help me balance out work life and blog life!

    P.s gorgeous pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nice to find another blogger who also works full time, I really struggled with blogging when I first started as I was terrible at making time for it, but preparing at the weekends is a big thing! I took a load of instagram photo’s at the weekend and all I have to do is upload one everyday, makes things so much easier.

    Meme xx

    http://www.thedayinthelifeof.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hi dear 🙂 what a lovely post ! I’ don’t have a job but I’m a university student and also a commuter! Sometimes is so hard! Have a lovely week 🙂

    aishettina.blogspot.it

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I really enjoyed reading this. I’ve had such a busy week at work and only managed one rather rushed post Monday, but after reading this I feel much better. It’s literally just what I needed to read right now, I’d been feeling rather guilty about not posting again but hey like you say it’s OK to take a break sometimes…

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great post as always lovely! I’ve been struggling with staying inspired and blogging with my full time job lately. I feel like no matter how quiet a week I’ve had at work, I’ve still not got enough hours in the day. Definitely taking some of these tips on board 🙂

    Amy | http://www.typicalamy.com

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Mummy Blogger here focus on beauty and lifestyle as my little get away. I’m often late for Twitter chats it’s a double booking with putting my gorgeous boy to bed! The day times are really manageable the play room is the office. We have outdoors time too and with myself and partner working from home we literally the turns playing. It works for us and Oscar. Loved this piece xx

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I totally agree with all of my this. I am a nurse so I can work 14h shifts and of course that I don’t have time for my blog during those days. Being organized and have spreadsheets or using my bullet journal to write down any ideas has been the best thing to really keep my blogger life organized !

    http://www.thelisasworld.com

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Brilliant post. You’re so organised. I’m taking all my photos for a few blog posts on one day except outfit photos but I do plan ahead for those and this seems to working, although I might try taking photos of two outfits at a time then I’ll have a backup.
    I love your blog and youtube videos.
    Sharon xx
    rosieloveslife.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Great post and as a full time working single mum, my blog time is pretty limited! I commute into London so start making the odd few notes on my iPhone and literally just write a post whenever I can squeeze it in!

    Like

  21. I have just started my job and with moving out and finishing uni and a broken camera I had to take a break from blogging for a whole week which was totally gutting. I really have to be more organized and start planning my posts more and more otherwise time really does get ahead of you! I don’t ever really schedule tweets ever but I’m starting to think it may be worth it as everyone seems to talk about how it’s the most important thing to do! xx

    http://www.iridescentplaces.com

    Like

  22. Loved this post! I work full time too and find it so hard sometimes to get up posts. I definitely agree with the whole bulk photographing and then writing the post at the time or a day before to make it more personal – great post lovely! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  23. This was so relatable, I go to sixth form and have a part time job, luckily I have broken up for summer now so I’m getting organised before heading back in September!

    Emily

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I love this post! I don’t think that a lot of people realise how difficult it is to do both. A lot of people think that I am not a ‘serious’ blogger just because I have another job. I am such a planner but for some reason sometimes really struggle so I am working on it haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Really great post! I am just starting out and really finding it hard to juggle full time work, social life and sitting down to write! Definitely going to be getting my hands on a blogging journal ASAP. Bloody love stationary so why oh why it has taken so long is beyond me – thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

