Teen Make-Up Trends vs Now♥

Hiya lovelies…. HOPE YOU HAVE ALL HAD A WONDERFUL WEEKEND SO FAR! What have you been up to? I spent my Saturday being VERY lazy actually (eeeek.. SO unlike me!). It was an all-day pajama day.. I took a few posts worth of blog photos, changed my bedsheets and made some gourmet chicken burgers! Sounds about right doesn’t it? I think Saturdays like this are needed sometimes.. it is SO nice to just chill out and do things at your own pace and not feel rushed! I think the fact that I have a week off work (YAYAYAY) has helped this too… As it means I do not have to worry about cramming everything in on the weekend.. like the usual mad dash I have to deal with!

RIGHT angels….. I have a bit of a chatty/reminiscent post for you today. Now.. I know with the majority of us being beauty bloggers, AND sassy young women, I think we consider ourselves to know quite a bit about the latest beauty trends/what the best products are out there… BUT .. were we always like this? Anybody remember what their makeup/beauty was like back in the day… I think it is time we took a little trip down memory lane ey? Have a peek below darlings and let’s see how many of these make-up “trends” you followed!

IMG_9470

White Eyeshadow♥

Then: One single swipe of bright white eye-shadow all over your eyelid – the SASSIEST eye makeup around! You were definitely the baddest girl EVER when your wore this eye-shadow – EVERYONE ADMIRED YOUR EYE MAKEUP SKILLS. If you were brave enough to use blue eyeshadow.. wow girl.. HATS OFF to you.

Now: Nothing short of perfectly blended eye-shadow with the most PERFECT wing is expected. The only white eye-shadow in sight is in the inner corner of your eyes to brighten them up… after all you are up at the crack of dawn for work.

Panda Eyes♥

Then: DARK, BLACK KHOL WAS YOUR BESTIE! It was THE THING to have the darkest, most mysterious panda eyes EVER. You would go through SO many khol liners, and black eye shadow was NEEDED for making everything STAY in the place

Now: Usually… a single, soft brown/black liner on your waterline is enough… nobody wants black eyes right? WE LAY OFF LOTS OF KHOL NOW RIGHT?

Frosty Lips♥

Then: All you would ever want in life was to have the glossiest, stickiest, most glittery lipgloss EVER. If it was flavoured.. THAT WAS EVEN BETTER. It didn’t matter that your hair got stuck in it every time you went out… all you would need to do is reapply ever hour. Do NOT even get me started on those lipgloss tubes…. it was ESSENTIAL that you built up a collection of these so you could have a different colour every day.. AND brag to your friends about them.

Now: Really though… sticky lipgloss is the WORST. Shiny.. not so bad… glittery.. hmmm… as long as it is SUBTLE. I do not know about you but lipgloss in a tube is a NIGHTMARE… WE NEED PRECISION WHEN APPLYING.

Orange Face♥

Then: Bronzing pearls were your bestie…. you would use a massive fluffy brush (may I add that was used for EVERYTHING ELSE too) and go WILD applying that bronzer. You had to look like you had just been on holiday right? The colour “orange” meant nothing to you… you were “glowing”

Now: Contouring is your babe… and you use precision brushes so you can get the most BEAUTIFUL look on your face. You are an EXPERT at applying bronzer to give you a health glow… no orange-ness in sight. W are smart, sassy ladies and we know to stay away from anything too orange-y

Clumpy Lashes♥

Then: You would never leave the house without at least 5 layers of mascara on… all you saw when you blinked was a black curtain. It was all about having the thickest, clumpiest, most spidery lashes EVER.

Now: Long, fluttery eyelashes that are individually separated … and you NEVER need more than two coats. Sometimes.. falsies may be be used to help increase the length/volume of your BEAUTIFUL lashes… but THERE IS STILL NO CLUMPINESS IN SIGHT

No Brows Whatsoever♥

Then: All your eyebrows would be was a line of hair above your eye.. they would be PLUCKED LIKE MAD every Sunday night.. and any time ANY hair grew.. this HAD to be removed by your trusty tweezers. In fact.. you would even carry these bad boys in your bag so you could do your work on the go

Now: After hating yourself that you got rid of your beautiful brows, you have to deal with the PAINFUL wait of them growing back again (hello monster brows). SOMETIMES THEY DID NOT EVEN GROW BACK! Your eyebrow pencil/wax/powder is your bestie… and beautifully shaped, full brows are the result! Bet we are kicking ourselves now for thinning them out so much when we were younger ey?

Disco Ball♥

Then: Glitter. Glitter in your hair, glitter on your body… glitter on your eyes.. GLITTER EVERYWHERE. You were practically a WALKING DISCO BALL

Now: Glitter on ANYTHING is a no go. Except maybe eyeshadow… if you are doing fancy dress….

So there we have it darlings!! I really hope this post made you giggle.. Ohhhh to be young and carefree again (ha!).. it really is SO funny to think back about how your makeup was when you were in school. Bet you never thought we would be looking back and giggling at ourselves! DO NOT even get me started on hair/fashion when we were younger.. that is a WHOLE post in itself. Butterfly clips, crimped hair and coloured hair extensions anyone?

IMG_9471

Right darlings… the sun is shining outside….  Spring is OFFICIALLY HERE (YES!!).. So I am going to enjoy the BEAUTIFUL weather (make the most of it before it starts raining again ha!).. I really hope you enjoy the rest of your day! Make sure to let me know what other make-up trends you followed when you were younger.. AND if you followed any of these too!!

See you all in my next one lovelies!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin ♥

42 thoughts on “Teen Make-Up Trends vs Now♥

  1. OMG never read anything more accurate 😂 i am guilty of committing all these makeup faux pas (especially the frosty lips and panda eyes oh dear). It was a much simpler time back then and sometimes id give anything to go back to (with fleeky makeup of course 😂). Fab post, made me chuckle x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes I remember some of these! Although I am still a teen at 16, I remember when trying out makeup at 10-12 wearing white eyeshadow and body glitter haha! Great post-it really made me laugh! 🙂 -Tash x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Except for the orange face one I can relate to all of these! Omg, I loved this post! And I was definitely one of those who went for blue eyeshadow, hahaha! Gosh, I used to wear so much kohl liner, I have so many short pencils now that I haven’t touched in ages, but used to wear all the time! And glitter! Do you remember those tubes of glitter with a spoolie inside so you could put it in your hair? Omg.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOVE this! I’m definitely guilty of the odd, accidental orange face. You know when you look back at photos and just die when you see your make up! I used to wear blue mascara too…ahhh to be young!
    xxx

    thatgirltweens.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’miss glad that times have changed. I always looked like I jumped into a bucket with a bunch of colors. I wish my eye shadow would’ve been white because I used more blue or pink. It looked terrible. My eyebrows were horrible. Unfortunately, they still suffer from too much plucking. They just won’t grow back to being fully normal. I hate it! And an orange face was just the worst. It’s not so easy though to find the perfect color. But I do think that a little glitter never hurts nobody. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha, could this post be any more accurate and relatable! Clumpy lashes are a complete no no for me, I hate them with a serious passion, I mean how could they have even been a thing lol. I’m all about the flutter and butterfly effect ♥

    tipscapsule.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LOL I can’t even start telling you how amazing this post is lovely and how loudly I was laughing at some of the points you mentioned!! 😀 Guilty, they are so true haha!
    I think I could relate to no brows whatsoever, they were non-existent & super sticky lip gloss eww. White eyeshadow – YES, haha. Oh, and blue on the days when I felt extra sassy 😀
    Fab post, darling. Enjoyed it so much 😀 You are the best! Hope your week off is going fantastic!
    xox Nadia
    💗 http://www.mielandmint.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha oh Nad I was laughing as I wrote it because all I kept getting was flashbacks of myself looking like the above! I am SO glad you enjoyed it sweetheart.. I am loving my week off (if only it was 2 ey!).. I hope you are feeling better lovely! xx

      Like

  8. This made me chuckle quite a bit. I was very guilt of over-doing the panda eyes and glitter. Oh, so much glitter. Blue glitter mascara, blue glitter eye shadow, and I had this mint flavored glitter body powder. I’m surprised my mom let me out of the house with all that glitter on!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. oh gosh, this made me laugh.

    I can’t relate to them all, because I was that one girl in the photo who stood out because she had really pale skin next to all the wotsit faces beside me- kind of thankful I had such sensitive skin back then! Oh the eyebrows. WHY? WHAT WERE WE THINKING? although I thought she was being really uncool and mean at the time, I’m so grateful mum came to the beautician with me whenever I got my eyebrows done and ensured they never became completely invisible.

    It’s so funny how trends change like that, and so drastically! Really good post!

    Love,

    Anne

    http://aportraitofyouth.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha your comment made me laugh!!! Ohhh you were the lucky one!! I know why why why for the eyebrows.. At one point I had the biggest gap EVER between them (eeeek!!)… I know me too thank god for mums ey? Thanks Anne! Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

