Make-up for £1? Miss Beauty Review♥

Hey hey!♥

It’s been a while! How have you all been? Had a good week/weekend? Any big changes I need to know about? Hehe… apologies about all the questions.. I feel like I have been away for a while (Its been a few days).. and this ALWAYS HAPPENS TO ME! Why is it that a few days in the blogging world always feels like a few weeks? I think I will try to stick to my habit of posting Sunday & Thursday.. that seemed to work well for me and I never felt like I was away for too long! In fact lovelies, let me know how often you post/what days.. I would LOVE to know!!!

RIGHT DARLINGS… I have a very exciting post for you all.. especially those of you who are savvy shoppers and LOVE a good bargain (ahem… me included!). So.. I was VERY GENEROUSLY sent some beauty products from a company called Miss Beauty London*… which if are not aware of… is actually sold in POUNDWORLD. AND… each item is a POUND. Yep you read that right… now I already know what you are all thinking… make-up that costs a pound surely cannot work right? Well…. I will be honest, that thought was in the back of my head too…. BUT recently (especially after LOVING the Primark beauty range so much) I really have been loving more budget items.. and wanted to give these £1 beauty items a go!

SAM_4785

SAM_4786

So… first things first loves… the BASE products. I have both the Flawless Matte Foundation* and the Face Powder*.

Flawless Matte Foundation♥

I was so pleasantly surprised that the shade of this was more or less a perfect match (wooop!).. as this can always be an issue when you are sent foundation! The consistency is on the runnier side… and is definitely light – buildable medium coverage ( I applied 2 layers).. and it definitely has the matte look as the name states! It felt very light on my skin and just blended perfectly with my beauty sponge… but I have also applied it with a buffing brush and it blended so easily then! The staying power was actually what I was most impressed with … I wore it on the warmest day of the year that we have had so far (eeek!)… and I could not believe that it was still ON my face after sitting in the sun! Obviously… as the evening came along… it had started to fade… but it definitely lasted the majority of the morning/afternoon! The staying power is usually one of my biggest problems with cheaper foundations… but for the price.. this foundation did an amazing job!

SAM_4791

Overall:

I absolutely LOVE this foundation.. in fact it has become my day-to-day foundation for Spring. I love how light it is, yet it still mattifies your skin so you are left with a beautiful natural looking base. I was SO impressed with the staying power… and would definitely purchase this with my own money for an affordable, everyday foundation! I think it would be perfect for work/university.. especially for students who are after a budget foundation! I adore the packaging… it is SO sleek and classic.. and it is quite small so will easily fit in your makeup bag! The only issue I had is that it didn’t seem like there was much product in the packaging.. I feel like I may get 2 weeks more of foundation.. then it will be out.. BUT… I suppose you have to remember it is only £1… and it is not breaking the bank if you have to re-purchase it! OVERALL.. I highly recommend this as a day time foundation lovelies… give it a go! (if you want to, hehe).

Face Powder♥

This powder was definitely another one of my favourite items… the shade matched my skin nicely (although it was slightly on the darker side.. but I do not see this as a problem especially as we have Summer round the corner.. sort of, ha!). It feels very silky, and when applied to my skin (with a large kabuki brush).. it applied so easily and mattified my face! ALSO… apparently this powder has sunscreen in it.. SO it helps protect your skin in the sun (not bad!).. I would still recommend using a normal SPF though (as I hope you all do ANYWAY!). The powder gives my skin a lovely, smooth, velvety finish.. and reminds me of the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder.. although I think I actually prefer the finish of THIS budget one! The packaging does feel quite flimsy (it is only plastic).. but I was expecting this … and it does not affect how the product works so I am not fussed too much about this!

Overall:

I love the finish this powder gives me.. it feels like velvet on my face and I cannot believe a powder that cost £1 could work so well. It helps the foundation last longer too… and does not feel powdery or look cakey on your skin after! I adore this powder so so much! I do not even think I have any negatives about this… so lovelies.. definitely check this out!

Mascaras♥

I was actually lucky enough to be sent ALL 3 mascaras that Miss Beauty have in their range.. so it was amazing to be able to review ALL 3 of them!

SAM_4792

SAM_4795

Volumising Mascara and Lengthening Mascara

Firstly.. I adore the packaging.. it is so sleek and simple! However.. that is probably the only thing that I liked about these products. I was SO gutted when I applied them as neither of them worked for my lashes…I was just not able to get them to work at all. Maybe it is just me and my weird lashes (hehe!)… I know products work differently on every person so if you have tried these mascaras and they work for you… let me know!

Waterproof Mascara

NOW THIS ONE… is a completely different story. I actually LOVE this one! I have never been one to wear waterproof mascara.. but I have been loving this one so much! It makes my lashes look volumised, lengthened and also very dark! I have quite watery eyes too (especially during hay fever season!).. so using this mascara means I do not get panda eyes anymore! So.. if you are looking for an affordable, waterproof mascara.. I highly recommend this one!

Overall:

The mascaras were the only thing I did not love from this range.. EXCEPT the waterproof one which I loved! The packaging and wands are SPOT on… but the formulation of the two mascaras just DID NOT get on with my lashes at all!

Fine Eyeliner♥

You guys will know me and that I love a good winged liner! So I was so chuffed to see an eyeliner .. BUT I was a little nervous because I am so used to using a felt tip pen.. rather than out of a “pot”. I was also a little apprehensive as the product was a very shiny black.. and I love me some matte wings guys. BUT GUESS WHAT.. this product DRIED matte.. so I was SO glad! The application is quite easy… it took the same amount of time to apply that my felt tip does.. which was fab! The staying power of the eyeliner is amazing too… I again used it on the hottest day we had.. and it stayed put! It is also so easy to remove.. which is always a plus!

SAM_4799

SAM_4806

Overall:

I love this eyeliner so much…. it is so easy to apply, long lasting AND dries matte (probably my favourite thing ha!). The ONLY issue is… getting some product in your eye. NOW this may just be me being clumsy.. but every now and again.. I somehow manage to hit myself in the eye with my eyeliner.. and unfortunately it happened with this and it did sting quite a bit.. although this disappeared within a few seconds. This does not happen with my usual eyeliner (although it has happened with pot eyeliners before!)… so I will just have to remember to be extra careful when applying this one!

SO LOVELIES… there we have my review of some AMAZING, budget makeup items! I know everyone loves a good bargain.. especially when it comes to makeup.. so if you are on the hunt for some new products.. I recommend giving Miss Beauty London a go.. especially their base products! They are available in Poundworld… so next time you are picking up some essentials.. give these a go!!

Right darlings… I hope you enjoyed this! I have quite busy day ahead of me.. I have some blog photos to take, a video to film, a room to clean (hehe) AND also.. a Body Shop event to go to (I cannot WAIT!)… SO I am going to love you and leave you guys.. have an absolutely AMAZING DAY!!!!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

*Items were sent for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own
27 thoughts on “Make-up for £1? Miss Beauty Review♥

  1. Ooooh! Will definitely need to give these a try! I also think since it’s cheap, it’ll be good for practising and experimenting, so since i’m horrendous at eyeliner- might be worth a shot! Loved this post- i would probably have been sceptical about buying makeup from poundland but there you go 😀 Loved this post!

    love,

    Anne

    http://www.aportraitofyouth.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY I LOVE CHEAP MAKE UP!!
    I think I may give some of these products a try to see how I get on with them! Especially the eyeliner as that is a product I wear all the time so I’m likely to run out of it and the fact that it dries matte is important to me! I’ve had my share of liquid eyeliners that were on the cheaper side drying shiny and it was like NO I DON’T WANT THE SHININESS
    I think next time I’m in poundland I’ll have a little wander on over to the make up section and see what else they have from this brand and see how I get on with them!

    Jasmine | http://kkochsongi.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  3. Great review hun, very detailed 🙂 I too am slept with cheaper brands. Especially £1 shop ones I have to say I’ve never tried. I just get worried I’ll break out with their cheap lines? Although from your review i love the sound of the foundation. It’s a shame 2 of the mascaras weren’t for you.

    Love Hannah xx

    http://www.HannahHawes.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks darling ! I’m so happy you liked it .. I was so pleasantly surprised with it too! I know I think it would always be worth trying them on a small patch of your face before just incase ! Thanks for reading lovely ! Xxx

      Like

  4. Brilliant blog post Saira!
    I’m a mad bargain hunter myself and the pounshop makeup I absolutely love also is Saffron Cosmetics! OMG if you find this brand hun you neeeed to try them (especially the amazing eyeshadows) they are sooooo pigmented and the shades are amazing.
    I love bargain hunting so much and I love poundshops even more.
    I’ve never tried these before but I am definitely going to be keeping my eye out for them too now.
    LisaXoX

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love hearing about makeup brands that are great quality at an affordable price…it leaves my wallet still feeling happy after a huge purchase. Haha. I love how simple the packaging for the mascaras are!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was just reading a review of this wee box done by another blogger hon and they too had a major disappointment with the mascara. Their mascara arrived empty!
    I am glad to hear the foundation worked! For such a price it provides a pretty impressive result! Thanks for reviewing it, lovely. This is definitely something new I haven’t tried before 🙂
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

