How To: Cream Makeup

Hey guys!♥

Guess what I am doing right now? Sat in the garden, in the sun, writing up my blogpost.. with a big glass of lemonade next to me. Can every blog writing session be like this please? The weather in the UK is perfect right now… JUST IN TIME FOR THE BANK HOLIDAY.. WOOP! What are your favourite things to do in the sun? Don’t get me wrong though lovelies… I am all for going to the beach/making the most of the sun.. but sometimes, sitting in your back garden with a drink and your laptop is just RIGHT!

SO…I am so so excited to write this post…and I really hope it is one of those that helps lots of other people too! It is also something I have not seen done quite often.. ANOTHER good reason to write a post ALL about it. I was also going to write “you are probably wondering what I am going on about”… but it says it all in the title HA!

Yes… I am going to be talking to you all about CREAM MAKEUP PRODUCTS. I know these are usually not your first choice when it comes to choosing makeup.. and it is understandable too. Your first thought when it comes to cream products is they are not as long lasting as poweders… they look greasy… not as pigmented…. yep I know them all! BUT… I am going to give you some tips on how to use them AND how to make them last ALL DAY!

SAM_4956

Honestly lovelies… cream products are literally my favourite thing EVER right now.. I find they look so much nicer and natural on the skin, are easier to use AND are perfect for summer time too! They give that beautiful, glowy look to your skin too.. which I personally think is WHAT YOU NEED IN SUMMER. Everyone wants that stunning, glowing skin right?

Now… I am only going to be talking about cream products for your face loves (sorry to my eyeshadow lovers)… I personally do not use eyeshadow as much .. so I would not have any that I can recommend for you… BUT let me know if you would like me to trial some and let you know what I think!!!

OK…what am I going to be talking about in this post? I will cover:

  • Why to use cream products
  • My favourite cream products
  • How to use cream products
  • Tips on making cream products last longer

Why Cream Products?♥

Trust me when  I say this loves.. cream products are honestly SO SO EASY TO USE!! Here are my top reasons why I use them.. (ahem.. and why you should too!)

  • You don’t even need to get your makeup brushes mucky (your hands and a blending sponge will do!)
  • They look so much more natural than powders
  • It is VERY HARD to actually get cream products WRONG.. If you put too much on.. all you have to do is blend… NOT be left with clown cheeks (hehe!)
  • They are amazing if you suffer from dry skin (although I have oily skin and I can still use them with no trouble!)

My Favourite Cream Products!♥

As I mentioned earlier lovelies… I am talking ALL ABOUT cream products for your face.. SO I have you covered with blusher, bronzer/contour and highlight!

Blusher – Makeup Revolution All About Cream Blush Palette

SAM_4963

OH MY GOODNESS guys.. I have wanted to get my mitts on this cream blush palette for the longest time EVER.. and I can honestly tell you that I am so so happy that I have! Like all the amazing MUR cheek palettes, it is £6 (ABSOLUTE BARGAIN!)… and you get 8 beautiful shades to play around with! If you want some more info/a few swatches on this palette… check out my YT video where it got a special mention! SO…. this palette has both pink AND coral shades and the blushes are SO creamy! Honestly guys.. this palette is SO SO PIGMENTED… I can honestly compare one of the shades to Mac’s Ladyblush (which was my FAVOURITE cream blush at one point!)…. I cannot recommend this enough guys! The blushes are so easy to apply and blend.. AND last all day too.. as well as looking so natural and giving your cheeks that lovely glow!

Contour Kits/Bronzer Kits♥

Sleek Contour Kit –  I actually was lucky enough to be sent this from Laura♥… she was SUCH  sweetheart and sent me it after seeing my tweets about desperately wanting it! I can honestly say this kit is AMAZING! It has a gorgeous range of colours, both for concealing AND contouring your skin (Although the concealers are WAY too dark for my skintone!). The colours are so so creamy and easy to blend! They also last all day and do not leave that awful “muddy” look on your face! Also.. anything with a massive mirror is ALWAYS a bonus!

SAM_4959

MeMeMe Ultimate Contour and Highlight Kit* – This kit is GORGEOUS! I love this as it has shades that I can use for contour, concealer AND highlight! The shades are again SO SO creamy and pigmented … and they have slightly more sheen than the Sleek palette! My favourite in this palette HAS to be the highlighter.. it has pink undertones and looks SO stunning against my skin tone! It just gives your skin this beautiful, healthy glow! I do find the concealer creases quite a bit under my eyes… but I find this to be a problem with a number of concealers I use! I just WISH this kit had a mirror!

SAM_4958

Highlighter Collection Speedy Highlighter 

SAM_4969

If you have been reading my blog/watching my YT videos.. this little baby will not be news to you.. the amount I have spoken about it is slightly ridiculous (ha!). This cream highlighter is honestly the best thing I have ever come across… it gives you that stunning, natural highlight… which just makes your skin look so so healthy! I seriously need to stock up on these because I would be so lost without it! It is easy to blend, long lasting and does not leave your skin looking/feeling greasy!

So lovelies… those are my quick reviews on my favourite cream products so far.. I honestly need to pick some more up! My wishlist includes Benefit’s Watts Up Highlighter, a few NYX cream blushes… and the OH SO POPULAR Chanel Soleil Tan De Chanel (OK.. I can dream about the Chanel right?). 

How To Use Cream Products♥

SAM_4972

Primer = Essential

For me.. a mattifying primer that gives your skin a smooth base to apply makeup on is essential! The last thing you want is your cream products gathering around oily patches on your skin (NOT a good look).

AVOID – highlighting, glowing primers. This will be way too much glowy-ness (in my opinion!).. and can lead to that greasy look (NOT WHAT WE ARE WANTING LOVES).

Application

For me.. I dot blusher onto my cheeks and use a small concealer brush for the contour! Then.. I use a beauty sponge to blend out so it looks natural!

Contour – I apply the darker shades of the palette onto the hollows of cheeks, on my temples and on my jaw… then blend it in!

Blush – This is easy… just dot onto your cheeks… and use your sponge to blend!

Highlighter – I apply highlighter onto the top of my cheekbones, down my nose, on my forehead, chin and under my brows!

And THAT IS ALL! See.. it is not as hard as it seems is it? Of course.. if you want me to do a YT video showing you what I do.. let me know!

Tips To Help You!♥

SAM_4975

Right… I am going to give you some of my tips on using cream products now… This is what works for me lovelies.. but if you have ANY other tips.. Make sure to let me know!

Cream on Cream 

I am sure you have all heard this term before… to only use cream products on top of creams! So… when it comes to applying your powder.. it is best to do this AFTER you have applied all your cream products. This avoids your makeup shifting on your face.. it makes sense though right?

Translucent/Finishing Powders = BEST things EVER!

These powders will become your best friends when you are using cream products They set your makeup but do not add any colour to your face. They ensure your cream products are set.. and then will last all day!

Finishing Sprays – Essential!

SAM_4976

I honestly cannot recommend using a finishing spray enough whether you use cream OR powder products. They help to lock your cream makeup on your skin and helps control any oil.. which would definitely benefit those of you who suffer from oily skin AND use cream products. My favourite ones are the Urban Decay De Slick Spray.. or if you are after something cheaper… the Maybelline 24 Hour Setting Spray!

Right lovelies… they are all the tips I have picked up whilst using cream products! I really hope this inspires some of you to try cream makeup if you haven’t already.. or to help you if you are struggling with it! It honestly is my preference over powder for Summer time… as I just LOVE the finish of it, and how quick it is to apply too!

Let me know if you are a lover of creams.. and if so what your favourite products are! Hope you liked this post my loves.. and I will see you all in my next one!

By the way.. HAVE YOU ENTERED MY LATEST GIVEAWAY?

Lots of Love!

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

 

33 thoughts on “How To: Cream Makeup

  1. I’m a big fan of cream blushes. I’ve had my eye on the Makeup Revolution blusher palette, but I want to use up some of the products I already have before I buy it. I’m nervous that the creams I already own will go out of date otherwise! I’ve one cream highlighter, the Nars stick in Copacabana, but it tends to look less natural & more like a harsher strip than my powder highlighters. I need to experiment more. I’d love to try a cream contour product, but can’t decide between the Sleek or Makeup Revolution options. Xx

    Tania | When Tania Talks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That blush palette looks absolutely stunning! And I agree with you that cream products tend to look more natural. Cream blushes are my absolute favorite because it actually looks like you’re glowing from within.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m desperate to try one of those sleek contour palettes or just a cream contour palette in general! I feel like they look so much easier to blend and definitely as you said, a lot more natural. There were so many great tips I can take away from this post, thank you. ❤

    helloimeve.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Heeey babes! Guess what? It’s so cool reading your posts now that you have a YT channel I could totally hear your voice while I was reading this! hihi ❤ Love it. AND I definitely needed this post. I recently bought the Sleek contour palette, but as I got a lot of oily skin problems right after that I kind of haven't been using it. However after this post, I think I'm going to give it another go 🙂
    That blusher palette looks like a dream come true too! Love it!!
    Thanks for the great post hon ❤ Love love love it! Hope you have a wonderful day!
    Love ya lots!!! Mwaaah!
    Emma xxx

    http://www.wellemma.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

