Foundation Diaries: Matte Or Dewy?

Hiya!!

Good week so far? I hope so! I feel like this week is flying by…it is almost the weekend already! Also.. it is less than 3 weeks until I go away on holiday (eeeeek!!)… prepare yourself for some holiday inspired posts! Are you going away this summer? Let me know!

Right guys…. let’s have a little chat about FOUNDATION. Now, you have those people who LOVE glowy, fresh-faced foundation.. and those who stick to a more matte, natural, flawless finish.. THEN YOU HAVE ME (and I am sure a lot of you are also like this)… sometimes I want a dewy, glowing face … other times I want NO glowy-ness at all… just a completely matte finish. I like to be greedy and have the option of both, tehe. If you are the same and feel like having a different finish to your foundation everyday… I can help (well… your bank account won’t be too happy… hehe).

Now… I popped to Boots after my beloved Seventeen Stay Time Foundation started to run out… and I already had my eyes set on what foundation I wanted. One word… cushion. I am sure beauty bloggers out there know what I am talking about.. but if you are thinking “HUH”.. it is the ever so popular, L’Oreal Nude Magique Foundation! This has taken the blogging world by STORM and all I ever hear is amazing reviews about it. I was so intrigued by the concept of it.. so of course had to pick it up! Now.. you will never guess what.. Boots only went and had 3 for 2 .. so what did I do? Pick up 2 more things.. it would have been rude not to right?

IMG_0654

So…. I also picked up the L’Oreal Infallible Foundation & Primer… and of course this is where the idea for this post came from! Whether you prefer a dewy finish or a matte one… I got you covered guys! And of course.. you know me and my love for drugstore products… so all these products are super affordable!

I want: Matte Skin♥

IMG_0650

IMG_0642

You wake up wanting your skin to look flawless, natural.. and without an OUNCE of shininess coming through.. perfect for those days spent in the office where you want something natural!

Primer: L’Oreal Infalliable Primer

IMG_0646

If you read my previous post on primers.. you would have seen this little beauty make an appearance. This primer is AMAZING! If you suffer from oily skin.. I highly recommend this one.. it mattifies your skin, and keeps all the oil from showing on your skin after a few hours. Primer is an absolute essential if you have oilier skin and are after a matte finish… you need something for your foundation to “stick” to.. otherwise you could risk your lovely foundation sliding off your face!

Foundation: L’Oreal Infalliable Foundation

IMG_0645

This is probably one of my favourite foundations ever.. the lasting power on this baby is amazing! I would have thought it would have had a slightly thicker consistency as it is a mattifying foundation.. but it has medium coverage and blends wonderfully. I find I have to apply 2 layers to get the coverage I want … but even after this it does not look cakey at all. LOVE THIS GUYS! It really does an amazing job at staying put on your face too… and of course it is an absolute bargain at £7.99. I actually am a fan of the packaging too.. I think it is SO sleek … however I cannot see this foundation lasting me very long (boo!)… I just wish the tube was bigger! I think this is an amazing foundation for work.. it looks flawless but not like you have a tonne of makeup on.. and also keeps your shine at bay all day!

Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer

IMG_0647

Of course.. this concealer is my absolute fave if I want to cover my dark circles/blemishes.. but still keep my face looking pretty matte. It has the most amazing coverage .. and is so easy to blend! I am SO sure you have heard SO mach about this… and to be honest the majority of you probably already have this ha!

Powder: Miss Beauty Powder

IMG_0648

You don’t need to spend over a fiver to set your beautiful matte foundation because THIS STAPLE POWDER from Miss Beauty just does not let you down. This is a pretty new item in my collection but I find it works AMAZINGLY and just sets all your foundation perfectly and just helps your skin stay matte all day! AND.. IT COSTS A WHOLE POUND!

I Want: Glowing Skin♥

IMG_0640

So.. you have had a rough night and your skin is just looking so plain and dull.. ew. You need products that are going to brighten your skin and make you look fresh faced right?

Primer: Seventeen Skin Wow Primer*

IMG_0635

This baby alone gives your skin a beautiful sheen… you only need to read a few of my blog posts/watch my videos to know how much I love this. A glowing primer makes such a huge difference … it makes your foundation apply so much easier and just makes it look that extra special!

Foundation: L’Oreal Nude Magique Foundation

IMG_0598

IMG_0633

IMG_0634

This is probably the thing I was MOST excited to try! It is literally like nothing I have seen before and I was SO intrigued to see how it works. So…. it is basically a “cushion”that has the foundation soaked into it. I apply it by dipping my Real Techniques Buffing Brush into the cushion and dotting over my face.. and then blending. Guys… I LOVE THIS so much. It is so easy to apply, blends like an absolute dream, matches my skin tone perfectly and leaves your skin with the loveliest, dewy glow. I also love that it seems to sink into your skin and not just sit on top and feel tacky… which NOBODY wants! The lasting power of this foundation is also amazing.. although I find using a setting spray definitely helps! The only negative I can think of this product is how much foundation is actually in that little cushion… AND it is also a hefty £15 (eeek!). That aside.. this foundation is beautiful and has definitely became one of my FAVES! So.. you know all that hype behind this… I can see why it is there loves.. if you are thinking of picking this up.. I highly recommend!

Concealer: Seventeen Skin Wow Concealer*

IMG_0638

Of course.. for a gorgeous fresh faced look.. you need bright eyes & highlighted cheekbones right? This seventeen concealer is AMAZING at brightening those AWFUL dark circles.. and also adding a beautiful, subtle highlight to your cheekbones. I apply this concealer under my eyes and also any areas I want to highlight to really give my skin a beautiful, natural glow.

Powder: Collection Loose Powder

IMG_0637

Oh guys.. what is it with me and powders under £5? THIS Collection one is only £2.99 and is SUCH an amazing loose powder.. AND I have read somewhere that some even compare it to one by Laura Mercier. I cannot vouch for this guys as I have never tried the LM one (unfortunately).. but I can tell you that it is an AMAZING powder. It is finely milled and literally feels like velvet on your skin. I find loose powders work best when you want a dewy glow.. as they look more natural on your skin and don’t take away that lovely sheen your skin gets!

Right guys… they are my favourite products to get yourself a perfect base… whether you are feeling a matte or dewy look! ALSO.. there is nothing wrong with mixing these products up a bit and using a matte primer with a dewy foundation.. GO FOR IT! Experimenting with makeup is SO much fun… and it really is the best way to find what works for you. I was so stuck in a rut with my foundation/base.. now I LOVE having a few different foundations to work with!

IMG_0653

IMG_0654

Make sure to let me know if you have tried any of these products.. and also if you have a preference for matte/dewy .. or if you are like me and like to switch it up!

REALLY HOPE YOU LIKED THIS POST GUYS.. Thank you SO much for reading… I will see you all in my next one!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

25 thoughts on “Foundation Diaries: Matte Or Dewy?

  1. Aw I loved this post!! You always put so much personality into your posts, it’s honestly so lovely and refreshing to read. I’m a massive fan of a dewy finish to my make-up. I’ve seen the cushion foundation everywhere and if it wasn’t so pricey for a drugstore foundation, I’d jump at the chance to try as the concept is so interesting. Plus it’s dewy!!x

    Lauren | itslaurenvictoria.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great post! Lots of affordable products to be found – I myself have been more into a satin skin look that’s neither too matte or too dewy. Yes, I’m the middle of the road kind of gal! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi dear 🙂 I have the same L’Oreal primer too! It’s good but I’m not a huge fan of it (I prefer the POREfessional by Benefit) I only use my fave foundation: the ColorStay by Revlon! It’s amazing 🙂 I love the matte look with a good translucent powder and then add the highlighter ! Have a wonderful day xxx

    aishettina.blogspot.it

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve tried the Seventeen Wow concealer and really love that. I love wearing dewy and glowy foundations as a matt one can be too drying on my skin. I do like the look of the L’Oreal Nude Magique foundation and the Seventeen Wow primer. You’re going to cost me a small fortune ha ha
    Sharon xx
    rosieloveslife.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a helpful post! From all of these products the only thing I own is the skin wow primer from Seventeen, which I love! I think I’m going to pick some of these up today as I’m going to the store anyways! I personally don’t prefer anything it just depends on my mood, although recently I’ve been more into dewy skin. I do love me some good highlighter! Xx

    LITAH

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

