Travel Diaries: Hisaronu, Turkey

Well well well. GUESS WHO IS BACK!

I am back guys.. after my first blogging break EVER.. I think I have been away for about 2 weeks… it literally feels like 2 months! Those of you who blog will know EXACTLY what I mean.. what is it about being away from the internet? BUT.. I thought I would ease myself back into the whole blogging world with a chatty post.. giving you all an update AND sharing a little diary with you from my trip to Turkey!

SO… I took a break as I was going on my first holiday IN YEARS to Hisaronu, Turkey… and honestly.. the last thing I wanted was to be stressing if my scheduled posts had actually uploaded. BUT AT LEAST THAT MEANS WE CAN HAVE A HUGE CATCH UP, WOO!

Monday 11th July

Our first day was mainly travelling.. so off we toddled with our suitcases to Manchester Airport… got through security with no problems and boarded our flight! I spent most of the 4 hour journey reading Gone Girl and taking numerous trips to the TINY airplane loos because I could not stop drinking water. After reaching Dalaman airport (and SWEATING in the 30C heat at 8PM), we got our transfer to our hotel. I stayed at the Sunconnect Liberty Hotel in Hisaronu.. which I cannot recommend ENOUGH.. It was amazing and is SO close to the main strip.. it literally would take us around 5 minutes to walk there! It also took around 10/15 minutes (by taxi) to get to Fethiye & Oludeniz.. which are the main beach/harbour areas! We reached the hotel and got settled around midnight.. and actually ended up eating at the hotel because as you can imagine.. travelling all day = A VERY HUNGRY & TIRED COUPLE.

20160711_131356

IMG_0863

Tuesday 12th July

We were up and ready for 8AM as we had chosen the bed and breakfast option at the hotel (you can upgrade to half board whilst you are there), had breakfast and then ventured onto the main Hisaronu street. There is honestly SO much to do, the amount of restaurants, bars and shops that are there is CRAZY! I don’t drink so didn’t really venture into the bars, but if you prefer mocktails, desserts, waffles, even Nargile (which is a popular Turkish tradition… google it), you will literally be spoilt for choice. So… me and Saj were not really after a “quiet” holiday.. so we booked some excursions straight away. On this day.. we went to the Fethiye Market which was AMAZING… you really feel like you get stuck into the culture and lifestyle whilst you are there. We then ventured into Kayakoy, which is an abandoned village, and referred to as the “Ghost Town”.. you can imagine is has a very eerie feel to it too! Today also included riding on some camels, eating chicken shish and visiting a garden restaurant called “Happy Days”.. which had a crazy obsession with Elvis Presley (yep.. I know ha!)

IMG_0864

20160712_133633_001

IMG_0870

IMG_0884

IMG_0931

Wednesday 13th July

Today was actually my birthday.. although I actually FORGOT numerous times (ha!).. anybody else ever had that? We went down to the Olu Deniz beach.. which has the popular Blue Lagoon. Guys.. this beach is just absolutely STUNNING.. we went on some pedalo boats, spent some time relaxing… and then walked over to the main harbour. We had lunch overlooking the beach, did some shopping and saw numerous paragliders. Now I am a bit of an adrenaline freak .. but paragliding for me even seemed TOO EXTREME! We then spent the evening exploring the strip … if anyone has been to Turkey, you will know how friendly the locals are – I don’t think I have ever met a bunch of friendlier people!

IMG_0903

IMG_0925

Thursday 14th July

We actually went quad biking today.. which was INSANE.. we drove through villages, the mountains and forests.. it was so much fun! Then.. we ventured onto the Fethiye Harbour where we came across a McDonalds (eeeek!)… Turkey has the most amazing food ever.. but you just need a Mcdonalds sometimes right? The rest of the day was spent by the pool, and then eating Turkish food and ice cream!

IMG_0873

IMG_0872

IMG_0952

Friday 15th July

Guys.. today I went UNDER THE SEA (cue Sebastian in The Little Mermaid).. we went Scuba Diving! Oh my goodness.. this was probably the most AMAZING experience ever.. if any of you have tried it you will know what I mean. To be honest.. I panicked quite a bit before I actually went into the water.. as you can imagine breathing underwater is not normal behaviour so it does take some getting used to.. BUT I was SO chuffed that I went ahead with it. The rest of the day was spend relaxing on the boat and trying to spot some turtles (which I unfortunately did not see in the sea.. but saw one strolling along the path near our hotel, ha!).

DSC07925

IMG_0995

Saturday 16th July

We had our first chilled out morning since arriving… had breakfast (Turkish breakfast is probably one of my most favourite things EVER guys).. then spent some time near the pool. Our afternoon was spent horse-riding in the mountains… and seeing the most BEAUTIFUL views of the blue lagoon.. I don’t think I could ever get over how stunning it is! And of course.. our evening was spent on the main Hisaronu street discovering new places to eat!

20160716_153945

20160716_162728

Sunday 17th July

Another chilled out morning.. I got a pedicure whilst Saj spent some time near the pool (ahem… it cost me £8 for a full pedicure, including re-painting my nails!). Then.. for the evening we travelled to the Fethiye Harbour.. which is absolutely STUNNING at night! We got some dinner, ice cream, walked along the harbour and visited a Nargile (or Shisha/Hookah) place overlooking the sea! It was definitely the best way to spend our last night there!

IMG_1057

IMG_0896

Monday 18th July

Our last day (boo!!). The plane home wasn’t until 9:40pm.. so me and Saj booked ourselves for a 1 1/2 hour spa session! This including a Turkish bath, full body exfoliation/foam massage, 2 additional massages and a facial! I don’t think we have both ever felt so relaxed in our lives, ha! And an extra bonus, it only cost us £35 each (eeeek!). It was SUCH a good way to end our trip! Then… at 6pm we were collected by our transfer.. had some Mcdonalds at the airport, boarded our flight.. and four hours later.. landed safely at Manchester just after midnight! Phew!

I honestly had SUCH an amazing time in Turkey! I know there had been some issues in Istanbul .. but we never came across any problems in Hisaronu… in fact I felt safe every single day I was there. It is so heart breaking to see such a beautiful country going through the trouble that it is. So many people are avoiding Turkey all together now… and it is such a shame because the people/food/certain places in general are amazing. I really hope things do get better soon.. it is such an amazing country to visit. The only negative I have? I got bitten like an absolute b****. Everything else.. perfect.

So lovelies.. I hope you enjoyed reading about my 7 days in Hisaronu, Turkey! Have you ever been? Do you have any holiday’s planned? Let me know.. I am already thinking of where I want to visit next!

I am SO happy to be back into the whole blogging world… I enjoyed my break but I definitely missed blogging! SO… It is back to my normal routine of 2 posts and one video.. I am planning on putting my posts up on Monday & Wednesday, and my video on Saturday.. but of course this is not strict and can (OK.. it probably will) change! I missed you guys loads.. IT IS SO GOOD TO BE BACK!

I will see you all in my next one lovelies.. will it be a beauty, fashion or lifestyle one? You will have to see (muahaha!).

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

21 thoughts on “Travel Diaries: Hisaronu, Turkey

  1. Your holiday looks AMAZING! I’m actually going to Turkey next week- I’m staying in Antalya, Lara Beach which is quite far away from the dreadful things happening in Turkey! This post has just got me so excited for my holiday, so glad you had an amazing time on yours! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks incredible Saira!! And I’ve never thought about going for a spa day while on holiday, but it sounds PERFECT for the last day, before you fly! We’ve just got back from Portugal, been back in the UK for 2 weeks now, but it seems like an absolute lifetime ago! Holidays always go so quickly!
    Claire.x
    http://www.xclaireabella.com

    Like

  3. Wow looks like you had such a fab time Saira! You got to do a little bit of everything! How cheap was your spa experience btw! Sound like you had a great well deserved holiday hun. Halaal MacDonalds!! I would have been there everyday lol! Xx

    Amina xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your holiday looks amazing-glad you had a good time lovely 🙂 I have never been Scuba Diving before but have always wanted to try it!! The beaches look beautiful too 🙂 xxx

    Like

  5. Heeey hon ❤ I absolutely LOVED reading about your holiday! Looks like you had a pretty amazing time in Turkey and your pictures are FAB! SuperYAY for going diving, you go girl!! I don't think I could ever do it, because I get scared of snorkeling haha. But I admire people who do and I bet it was an amazing experience. Love the photo of you diving too 🙂 ❤ cutie ❤
    Thanks for this lovely post, really made me smile and get a little back to that holiday vibe ❤
    Love you LOTS!<3
    Emma xxx

    http://www.wellemma.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Holiday Blues
  7. It sounds like you had an amaaazing time and happy birthday!! Turkey really is such a beautiful country and its so sad what’s been happening recently, now we just have to pray for them and glad you came home safely! Thanks for sharing Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a nice blogpage and a good blogpost you wrote. I’ve been to Hisaronu for almost 7 years and I can see you are a Asian girl just like me. Was it not to warm in Turkey in this season? I almost go in Spring and Fall because it’s not too hot overthere. Nice to meet you and I’ve enjoy your storie. You go girl

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Awww, it looks & sounds like such a fab holiday, sweetie!!! Quad bikes, yummy treats and lots of sunshine – everything sounds so up my street 🙂 You’re so so brave and did diving!! Go you, babes! ❤
    Made me want a break so so much!!!
    Haha, you made me laugh at that comment about aircraft loos 😀 So true!! I am just like you, hon!
    LOVED this post (travel ones are my faves!!!) honey & love ya super much!
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

