Money Money: Budgeting & Saving

Hey hey!

WELCOME BACK GUYS! I hope you have all had an amazing weekend… and are feeling ready to take on this week! I had a lovely weekend doing some shopping, having a BBQ (we had GORGEOUS weather on Saturday) and sorting some blog stuff out!

Now… lets get on a more serious note guys. You are probably thinking WHAT? Saira, being all serious on her blog, really? Well.. yep.. my blog has always been a fun, chilled out place where I babble on about my favourite fashion items and what Lush things I love.. BUT I have never discussed a topic which can sometimes be seen as controversial… and that is.. money money money.

SAM_5078

OK… so money is a very private topic.. it is not something that we like to discuss openly with anyone… because we feel like someone will instantly judge you if they know how much money you have (it’s normal guys.. it happens). It is important to know that everybody’s money situation is different and personal to them, and nobody should be judged based on how they spend their money.

So… me, and probably every single 20-something year old has something they are saving towards.. whether that is a house, car, holiday.. even a handbag they are waiting to splurge on. At the moment.. me and Saj are putting the majority of our money towards a deposit for our first house together… so that, and a few other things really inspired me to write up this post. So… if you want to have read about how I budget and save my money.. grab a cuppa and keep reading!

ALSO… quick disclaimer.. I am NO expert in managing money.. I have just picked up things along the way and I know what works for me. I wanted to share my tips with you all so it could maybe help some of you that need it!

FIRST THINGS FIRST GUYS…..

Have a Budget – And STICK TO IT

Seriously.. I cannot even TELL you how much a budget helps. I know the feeling.. come payday, you have a HUGE wishlist on ASOS of things you have been LUSTING over the past month. The feeling you get when the postman brings your package… it is the best feeling in the world! But.. that’s all your money gone.. and you end up skint for the rest of the month feeling poopy. Now.. I am not saying put all your money away… just set some aside for treating yourself ..  you deserve it. Whether that is £50, £100.. whatever you are able to afford… put that in your spending account and put the rest into savings. Trust me guys.. it is not as hard as you might think to have a monthly budget. All you need is the right mindset.. think of the bigger picture. That money spent on clothes could be put aside to help buy you your new car or put towards money for your new home.

SAM_5084

Know your Outgoings

We all have it.. money that HAS to go out every month.. you have no other choice. Becoming an adult means you have rent/car insurance/council tax/mobile phone bills to pay.. so make sure you always separate this money aside from your spending money. Work out how much each will cost each month.. and see this money as  “untouchable”.

Stop Unnecessary Spending

We all do it.. you didn’t make your lunch so you fork out a fiver for it everyday.. those morning coffee runs… takeaways because you forgot to prep dinner. GUYS… this can all be sorted by a little bit of organisation! Prepare your lunch the night before, make your own coffee at home and buy a thermos so you can have it on the go (Primark have the most adorable ones). Dinner can be also be prepped the night before, all ready for when you come home from work. Seriously guys… tally up how much these “unnecessary” things cost.. and you will notice that you save yourself £100’s, heck even £1000’s every year. It all adds up in the long run.

SAM_5076

Have A Separate Account for Savings

It might seem a little bit of a headache to have 3-4 different accounts.. but it can really help you keep control of your spendings and savings. I personally have one for my regular spendings (the account that I transfer my monthly budget into), one for savings (this does NOT get touched… only in emergencies), and also a Help To Buy ISA (more on this next). Having separate accounts means you can keep track of how much money you have to spend, and also helps to see how much you have saved.

Consider a Help To Buy ISA

Now.. if you are in the process of saving some money for a deposit on your first house, having a HTB IA can really help you. Basically.. it is an account that you can put a certain amount of money in, you are unable to withdraw this money as you can choose to not get a card, and once you have enough and are ready for a mortgage, the government will give you some money back (the more you have in, the more they give you), and this can help towards purchasing your new home. If you are married/have a partner you can both have one, and the government will give you money back on BOTH ISA’s.. meaning you get twice the money back. It really is worth checking out.. I am with Santander, but I know a lot of other banks offer this service too.

Have a Goal in Mind

Having a goal can really help motivate you to save as much money as possible. You know your income loves, so you can set realistic goals that you can work with. Like I mentioned.. we are saving for a house and this is always in my head when I am feeling a bit crappy that I cannot spend my money on makeup/clothes…because I know how satisfying it will be to reach that goal sooner rather than later.

SAM_5082

So guys… they are my tips that I go by for budgeting and saving money. It can seem quite scary and daunting at first..but all it takes is a little bit of planning and patience. Everybody is capable of saving at some point..but remember if you find yourself in some trouble, there are always professional people that can help you.. it is always best to talk to someone and not suffer in silence.

I hope this was helpful to some of you.. it is a little bit more serious than my usual posts but it is such an important topic to discuss.. and I know a lot of my fellow bloggers are in similar situations!

I will see you all in my next post guys.. sending you lots of love!!

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Money Money: Budgeting & Saving

  1. I’m ALL about saving right now, as difficult as it is! I’m trying to buy my own flat next year at the age of 23, with no help. I’m ready for it, just need a little extra! All these tips are wonderful, especially the help to buy isa! I’ve had mine since they’ve started & I think it’s the best option!

    Katie // Words by Katie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always had difficulty with saving! It’s not that I’ve ever had money problems as I have a job etc but I want to spend my money on travelling which doesn’t come cheap! This post is so helpful, hopefully all my travelling I want to do early next year will happen if I try some of these tips and save enough!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so helpful! I always think I’m a money-savvy person but with me hoping to go to uni soon and money being a big thing to learn about, this has given me some great tips!
    Sarah x
    saraheliza.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am actually pretty good with money, as in I am not a big spender. I work hard & my hubby works even harder and we are both not money-crazed or all about shopping. I do think this is an important post to share, lovely, as it reminds to keep it all under control 😉
    Plus, less is sometimes more 🙂
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

