Getting Your Dream Career & My Story♥

Happy Friday guys!♥

Now.. I mentioned in one of my previous blog posts that I had some news to share with you.. and that is.. I HAVE A NEW JOB. This post is going to be telling you ALL ABOUT how I researched to find the career I wanted AND how I landed my new job as a Buying Assistant.. and hopefully some motivational tips to help you get your career going!

For over a year now, I have worked in HR in a busy head office.. and at first, I REALLY enjoyed it. There was so much to learn and I felt like I had found the profession I wanted to make a career out of. However, a few months in.. I found that I was just not loving what I did anymore.. I was becoming bored of the same queries, there was no place to move up and improve my skills, and I just felt I wasn’t getting anywhere in my job. Now.. I am not the type of person to just grin and bear it… I have always believed that if you are not happy with something.. you need to go out and fix it. Nobody is going to do it for you.. YOU are in charge of your life and how successful you become. So… I thought to myself, I need a career goal to focus on… something that I can be passionate about and love what I do too.

img_1594

That is when I came across the world of Buying. I was familiar with the ever so popular career of “Fashion Buying”, ( I am thinking Rachel from Friends here guys).. I did my research.. became familiar with the type of skills/personality qualities that you need.. and do you know what? I knew it was what I wanted to do. So… I am going to give you some tips that I personally picked up on how I found out what was for me, how I went about getting a job.. and even some tips for that dreaded interview (Ooooh, aren’t you all lucky, hehe!).

Do your research

I cannot stress this enough.. sure we can all think about a job we want to do.. and googling it in itself is not enough to go off completely. However.. it is a good starting point. I googled general information about Buying, what industries there are, how to get yourself into the industry, what qualities/skills are required  and whether or not I needed a degree/further study to land a role. Then.. I looked up interviews of people who were already buyers in a variety of fields (fashion, beauty, food) and got an idea of what it would be like day to day. Once I was set on what I wanted to do… I spoke to a lady at work who looks after careers/early training and got some advice from her. The first (and most important) thing she said to me? Network. Onto my next point….

Network

Oh my goodness guys.. I cannot even tell you how important it is to network… now more than ever people are landing jobs because of WHO they know.. not what. This was actually how I found out about my new job (more on this later). Nothing will help you get a job you want more than putting your name out there and making the effort to speak to people you want to work with. So, I got a list of people who were currently buyers at the place I work (including managers), and sent a good 20 emails out to arrange a catch up with them. I probably met with a total of 5-6 people (I also found out buyers are VERY busy and hard to get hold of).. but these catch ups were probably the best thing I did. I got SO much valuable information from them, and it also helped get my name out there and show them how passionate I was to land a role in buying. Meeting people who currently work where you want to be helps you know the in’s and out’s of the job.. all the good and bad bits that articles on Google won’t tell you and helps you decide if it is what you want to do.

Check for internal positions/training schemes

I am lucky in the sense that I work in a head office of a massive supermarket branch.. meaning I was in the same building as the traders, so it was easy to set up meetings. However if you are not in the same position.. email is your best friend. It is so easy to find details of managers/recruiters.. and to be honest the worst thing that can happen is you do not get a response. If you are in a position where you can change roles internally.. check them out. You are more likely to land a role if you are internal.. companies prefer these to external candidates as they are easier to get hold of, they also know the business and have that loyalty to stay with them too. It is also worth checking if your company offers any sort of training/graduate schemes… again if you are internal it helps because you are able to get your contacts together and you will have the advantage of knowing how the company works beforehand. I originally tried to get myself onto the graduate scheme, and met with people who had been on it. However… I actually started my research a week before the graduate scheme started.. so I think it had gotten too late to get myself onto that. BUT… whilst I had been networking, I met a buyer who was actually looking for a buying assistant. THIS is how I found the role I have got … it meant I had a good starting relationship with the buyer, and she knew that I was interested. She was actually one of the ladies that interviewed me too.. which I think helped massively in me landing the role (talk about good timing ey).

img_1584

SO… that is how I decided what role I wanted and how I got myself the interview… now for some tips for the interview itself!

Preparation is VITAL

One of the worst things you can do is go into an interview without doing some sort of preparation…  this sort of thing stands out by a MILE when you are being interviewed… TRUST ME. Obviously.. every interview is different but doing some research about the company and the role itself, and also being clued up on your CV and how it matches up with the role profile will definitely help you feel prepared! Also.. finding out what type of interview it is will help (group, value based etc)… mine was actually value based meaning I was asked questions about the values the company holds and how I would fit in and deal with any issues. Giving examples is always really good in these types of interview… so this is where your prep will come in very handy!

Eye Contact

There is nothing more important than making eye contact in an interview… I KNOW how nerve wracking and scary they can be.. but it is your chance to show off your skills and knowledge you have. Making eye contact shows confidence and the ability to hold a conversation well… just don’t stare with wide eyes for too long guys.

Dress Well

Again.. there will be a difference in what to wear to interviews depending on what industry it is.. but for the most part, a smart shirt/dress will work fine. JUST DO NOT WEAR JEANS/TRAINERS.

img_1586

OK guys… so that is the advice I have about interviews.. if you want me to go into any more detail.. just let me know and I will be more than happy to help you!

Now … just a few points that I think are so important to consider when trying to find your career path.. again these are all based on my personal experience and is just some general advice! If there is anything that you have picked up … I would LOVE to know!

Take a chance

There might be a job you really want to apply for or get more information on.. just take that chance. You really have nothing to lose.. especially if you are currently employed. If you get it.. WELL DONE.. if not.. you still have something to fall back on. You will not get very far with “what if’s”.. if you are passionate and want to change something enough, go for it girl.

Start from the bottom

Everyone has to start somewhere… so don’t be disheartened if you just start with some filing or picking up the phone. This is your chance to show people you are going to work hard and you can achieve what you have your heart set on. I think this is the same in any sort of job, whether that is buying or even blogging… everyone has to start somewhere right? People will see your effort and it DOES pay off.. I am SUCH  firm believer of this too.. I don’t focus on “good things come to those who wait”, no no noo… “good things come to those who work their ASS off”. Also… another good thing about starting from the bottom.. it means you have access to the industry you want to be in.. so you can focus on research and networking (see above!).

You know what? I feel like that was probably one of the most serious posts I have written.. but I really hope it helps some of you! I am actually starting my new role in a few weeks so will definitely keep you updated on how things go! Thank you SO much for reading.. and I really hope it motivated some of you! Let me know if you have a career you really want to go for..OR if you are already doing something you love!

I will see you all in my next one!

Lots of Love,

Saira

xo

Twitter // Instagram // Blog Lovin //YouTube ♥♥

 

30 thoughts on “Getting Your Dream Career & My Story♥

  1. Congratulations on the new job, that’s amazing news!! You are so right about Networking in this day and age it’s sadly all about who you know rather than what you know most of the time. Great tips here, so useful especially for people coming out of university with no idea what they want to do. (Plus your journal looks uhmaaazing) xx

    Tash
    natashatodd.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats! I totally can relate here, i switched from my first job after 8 months because i didn’t like it either, now where i am is much better and i hope to stay here for longer! What type of buying are you going to be doing, is it for fashion or like other type of products? I actually have experience in buying myself! lol but not fashion, it was health & beauty and general goods and now food.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fab! Sometimes you have to go into something you don’t like first in order to find out what you love ! I’m actually going into health/beauty/toiletries too! You should pop me a message and tell me about how buying was for you! I’d love to know :). Also .. fashion buying would just be goals right 🙂 thanks for reading ! X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all: congrats on the new amazing job! Second of all: I absolutely LOVED this post! Having just started uni, dream jobs and careers are something I’ve had on my mind quite a lot recently, and this post was definitely helpful and although I’m already quite motivated to work my ass off this post definitely just added on to that. So thank you! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really good tips here! I need to work on my networking that’s for sure; I always hear about it and how important it is, but I must admit that it’s a bit scary to think of. I guess you just have to step out of your comfort zone and just get talking.
    Laila xo
    fleurdelailis.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

