Fall Back In Love With Instagram…

Eugh, I hear you groan. Instagram. Probably the bane of everyone’s life at the minute am I right? Follow/unfollow, themes.. the whole shabang (is that even how you spell it). This whole algorithm thing really f***ed up Instagram for most of us “micro bloggers” (I love this name for us FYI)… we see most of the same pictures over and over again, miss out on all our faves, and our own pictures get lost in a deep dark hole. I felt SO shitty about Instagram for a while.. I just felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere with it and my picture’s weren’t good enough etc… BUT I made it one of my goals to try extra hard with my Instagram this year, and fall back in love with it…

.. And that is exactly what I did. So if you have a love/hate relationship with Instagram.. check out these few points to get yourself back to the love/LOVE relationship.

 
Engage more. And I mean REALLY engage

Seriously .. more meaningful comments on your fave posts compared to the loveheart emoji will help you in the long run. How? People NOTICE these comments more, like them and reply back to them (well.. most people).. plus they know you’re not a bot (win). And in turn.. they’re more likely to check out your feed, absolutely fall in LOVE ’cause girllll I bet your feed is lush.. and you got yourself a new follower! Plus.. I LOVE asking questions on the comments section in Instagram.. it’s a great way to strike up conversation too. In turn.. it’s really made me love Instagram more as I love the interaction.. on top of scrolling through beautiful photos!

Join Comment Pods

These little saviours have also really helped me love Instagram so so much. Created by none other than my fellow blogging babes, comment pods are basically a group of 10-15 bloggers on Instagram in a group, where we all post our latest pics, and comment/like each other’s posts. The result? CRAZY ASS engagement on all your posts, staying up to date with your favourite blogger feeds AND chit chatting with your fave blogger girls. Seriously.. if you are not part of one, start one up… you’ll laaaav being part of one.

 
Have A Theme

Ohhh… I realise that this is a veryyyyyyy personal preference .. but this is how I fell back in love with my Instagram. Feeds with a theme are just so so pretty to look at, and since creating a theme myself I am loving my feed so much too. There is just something so satisfying eh? I have even worked out how to fit in my outfit pictures with it (seeing as I don’t have the perfect white background), thanks to the app Factune. It has been a LIFE SAVER for me… seriously if you want a white theme… you need that app in your life girl. There are also SO many themes you can have… my babe Jade over at JadeAnnLoves has the PRETTIEST pink theme going on! You can also choose minimal, flatlays, monochrome, colourful.. the list is ENDLESS. But hey, I am not saying I don’t love feeds without a theme.. some of my faves are just a mix of different things which I feel like shows so much personality, but for me a theme has really helped me develop my Instagram and love it so much.

Take Separate Photos To Your Blog

For a while, I only would use pictures that had already been used on my blog on my feed, which is fab if you don’t have the time.. but I enjoy taking photo’s for my Instagram. Seriously, it is so much fun setting up my backdrop and taking a whole load of photos JUST for my Instagram.. I feel like I can really play around with my blogging props and create stunning photos. It also helps me keep up with my theme too, and since doing it I have found myself being so much more creative to really make my photos special.

 
Have A Backlog Of Pictures

I guess this kind of fits in with the previous point right? It can be the most annoying thing when you run out of photos to post on Instagram, and can make you feel a demotivated to update your Insta feed. Make sure you always have a few days worth of photos to fall back on in case you don’t get time to take any. Also.. anything you see whilst you are out that would fit with your theme.. snap away. I find it also helps save so much time if you edit them all together too! OH… and my latest trick I have LOVED doing… save a note of all your hashtags for certain things (beauty, fashion, random crap).. I haven’t worked out the snazzy keyboard shortcut way yet (anybody know it make sure to pass it my way, ta), but it saves SO much time when you are updating your feed!

TRY not to give a s*** about the numbers

I had to save the hardest till last right? I KNOW how disheartening it can be when you gain 20 followers,  but actually end up losing 25… I still do not even know HOW that is possible! BUT.. think of it in the sense that you don’t really want people following you who are just wanting a follow back. You want genuine followers who love your content and make the effort to like your photos and comment… THIS is the mindset I have developed and TRUST me it was hard to get my head around at first.. but just remind yourself of that. Once you don’t make this your priority… you lose most of that frustration associated with Insta. Focus on all the genuine followers you gain.. they’re the ones that matter.

So guys.. there we have it. My tips on beating that shitty feeling Instagram can give you and focusing on loving it again. I knew I wanted to focus on my Instagram this year.. which I have definitely been doing.. and focusing on these points has helped me so much. I REALLY hope they help some of you too!

Are there any things you have done that helped you beat this algorthim? Also.. make sure to leave me your Instagram links below and I will definitely give you a follow. Oh.. make sure to leave me your faves below too so I can check them out.

Sending you all the love guys.. thanks for all your support … YOU DA BEST

Love,

Saira xxxxx

18 thoughts on “Fall Back In Love With Instagram…

  1. Love this , it really does make you think because people who have thousands of followers don’t really engage with the people that actually are following them which stinks because most of us want to get that kind of feedback also you know

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Instagram is such a hard plat form to master at the moment, the new algorithm is still the bane of everyones life!! However, these tips are so great to get back into the swing of things! Your theme is stunning 😍😍

    Parie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Comment Pods is such a neat idea!
    I personally found the new IG algorithm helped me get more visibility. But I hear you about the numbers – I hate the stupid follow / unfollow games. Really make me dislike the IG experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loving these tips Saira! I should definitely take a more conscious note of these, although I’ve been putting more effort into my Instagram recently with exactly some of these things 🙂 But there’s always room for improvement and it’s so rewarding to see the benefits! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

