Travel Diaries: Lake District

Hello hello

I’ve got a little bit of a different post for you all today guys. You might be used to my usual beauty/lifestyle/fashion ramblings – but I wanted to incorporate something a little bit different into my blog. What is that you wonder? Some good old travel diaries. I have recently been LOVING reading other blogger’s travel posts.. but I always felt like because I wasn’t jetting off to the Maldives/exotic trips that my posts may be a little bit boring. But to be honest – the more posts I read – the different variations I saw… and I absolutely love the little weekend getaways to York/Brighton just as much as beach & New York holidays!

So .. getting onto my trip – over Easter me & my family spent 3 nights in the Lake District. Now – I had never stayed here before so it was a new experience for me… but let me tell you at the end of the trip I NEVER WANTED TO LEAVE. If you’ve ever taken a trip to the Lakes you will know how beautiful it is… literally the most perfect place to go if you need a few days away from a busy lifestyle.

You’ve probably heard of the popular Lakes at Windermere .. however we travelled up further north to a place called Caldbeck Fells – the hubby did a quick search on Google and found a 12 bed MANSION called Thistlewood House in the area… and seeing that every review had rated it 5 stars, we knew we had to go there (oh and yes – there was 12 of us going).

GETTING THERE

We set off at about 4pm to get there on Good Friday (we were meant to leave at noon – but rallying around 12 people trying to get them ready to leave at the same time is HARD) – and it took us around 2 and a half hours to get there from little old West Yorkshire. It might seem a little bit of a trek – but seeing the views as you drive up there is WORTH it. The house itself was literally in the middle of nowhere – I’m talking no signal guys – and there were probably around 3 other houses there (all of them just as big too)… so it’s definitely a perfect place if you want some chill time!

THE HOUSE

O.M.G. Guys .. the house. I was literally speechless when I saw it. The photos online did NOT do it justice. As we drove up there was a huge drive, gardens surrounding all sides of the house, and a field just opposite. Also .. we got a perfect view of all the little lambs with it being the perfect time of year .. MY HEART. I wanted to keep one .. seriously.

The house itself had everything you could ever need. I think I went into each room and was more and more gobsmacked each time. I want to kick myself because I didn’t get enough pictures of the inside (since everyone piled in at the same time and the house was just MANIC).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

WHAT WE DID

As we arrived pretty late, the first day was just spent eating some pizza we had brought and getting settled into the house. I fell in love with the bathrooms there too.. and me & my sister made it our mission to find a Lush so we could pick up some bathbombs to use (priorities guys).

The morning after, we had a pretty chilled breakfast (the kitchen had a coffee machine, Aga, orange juice maker & ice machine – WOOP), chilled out in the gardens (where I managed to take some outfit pics), then headed out to explore the surroundings. We spent the day walking, visiting a lake & found central Carlisle (where we spotted a Lush & Costa, muahaha). We then set off back home for a BBQ & another chilled evening.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day, I had a Lush bath & watched some Gossip Girl (perfect start to the morning might I had) – and then me & my sister made pancakes for breakfast. FYI .. I don’t think I’ve ever made as many pancakes as I did that morning – feeding 12 people breakfast is tough. We then ventured out on a long drive to a place called Silloth which is on the coast. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side and we literally experienced all four seasons whilst we were there (I’m talking hail & all that shit guys). It was still absolutely beautiful though – and I even found some coloured buildings (perfectly instagrammable) AND we had fish & chips by the sea (sat in our warm cars might I add). We then set off home & spent the evening watching TV & having plenty of tea & Easter eggs.

IMG_3492

IMG_3495

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our last day (boo!) was spent on a long drive through the mountains – where I spotted the dreamiest houses EVER and the most picturesque villages. We also spotted a picnic basket offering homemade scones which were an absolute TREAT and probably one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. We then spent the afternoon in South Lakes Safari Zoo which is in Cumbria, before venturing back home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2017-04-17-PHOTO-00046874

WHAT I WORE

I knew I wanted to be comfortable the whole trip.. so I literally lived in my oversized denim jacket & converse. I DID take some outfit pictures which you can take a peek at!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_3504.jpg

Overall – the trip was probably one of the best I have ever had. I would 100% go again and highly recommend you all take a trip to the Lakes if you get the chance. It is the perfect place if you want to get away from the busy-ness of everyday life and just relax. You can either spend your day in the many little villages they have, or just chill in a cottage for some peace and quiet.

So – there we have my first travel diary! I really hope you enjoyed it loves – I am visiting Amsterdam in a week (EEEEK) and will be doing a similar post for that!

Lots of Love,

Saira xo

6 thoughts on “Travel Diaries: Lake District

Leave a Reply

