THE YUMMIEST MOCKTAILS

Oh hey

You wanna know what I’ve been obsessed with recently? Mocktails. Making them experimenting with them, DRINKING THEM – most important part right? Of course, I don’t drink alcohol and I know a lot of other people don’t due to personal preference, religion.. or sometimes you do just fancy a mocktail. I’ve been playing around with some recipes and have come up with my 3 favourite drinks so far. Each one is so easy to make & tastes SO good. Trust me, you have to try them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before we get started, there is one thing Β you HAVE to do. Literally the most important thing that will bring all your mocktails together & make them taste SO good. What am I babbling on about? Simple syrup. You gotta make yourself some of this stuff guys, it makes all the difference. What is simple syrup? Probably the easiest thing you’ll ever make. It’s literally 1 part sugar to 1 part water, put it in a saucepan and slowly bring it to a boil. Once bubbles start to appear, take it off the heat and place in a cup. This will store for around a week in the fridge. Why do you need simple syrups? Think about it, you have a lot of citrusy fruits going in your drink so you need to add some sugar to sweeten it. Adding sugar to a warm drink – it dissolves pretty quickly. Adding sugar to a cold drink – it’s going to take a lot longer to dissolve – and you could be left with a whole Β load of sugar in the bottom of your glass. So this is where simple syrup comes in – it’s a sweet liquid that brings the drinks together nicely – and is an essential in mocktail making.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course – get yourself some fancy glasses, umbrellas, funky stirrers & any other pretty props you want. Because what’s a mocktail without some fancy decor?

HOW TO

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Strawberry Daiquiri:

I feel like this is one drink I have mastered because I’ve made it SO many times. This is definitely everyone’s fave – and it is literally SO easy to make. The combination of strawberries and limes/lemons is SO yummy & perfect for helping you feel refreshed. With this being a frozen mocktail, it’s perfect for hot summer days. I think this is probably my fave out of the lot too.

1 cup strawberries frozen

1/2 cup ice

2 tbsp simple syrup

2 tbsp pomegranate syrup

4 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp lemon juice

Splash of lemonade/7up – you can add more if you want – I just prefer a more slushie texture!

FYI – This makes around 5-6 small glasses worth of slush

Prep your glasses by rubbing a lemon round the rim and dipping it in sugar. Add a lime & strawberry to the rim and set aside. Add all the ingredients to a blender & blitz for a few seconds. You might need to stop and give it a stir because it will be slush! Add a splash of lemonade to the bottom of the glass, then spoon in the Strawberry Daiquiri slush. Give it a quick stir and serve!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Virgin Mojito

This is definitely the one when I want something a little bit ‘lighter’ and refreshing. I didn’t think I would like the combo of mint & lime, but it is SO good. It is so easy to make and you don’t need a blender for this one!

FYI – these ingredients are per one glass

1 lime – chopped – I add a whole lime for extra flavour, as there is no alcohol

6-7 sprigs of fresh mint

Crushed ice – 1 cup

Simple syrup – 1 tbsp

Lemonade – personal preference. I add around 1/2 of the glass I’m using – but you can always add more/less

Lime/mint to garnish

Add the chopped lime, mint leaves & simple syrup to your glass. Muddle these for a few seconds (don’t crush the mint leaves – your drink will taste AWFUL if you do). Just press the ingredients gently (I use the end of a rolling pin – works perfectly fine), until you can smell the mint coming through. Then, add your crushed ice, lemonade and mix well. Garnish with lime & a few mint leaves, et VOILA. The yummiest virgin mojito ever – and it’s SO quick to make.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pineapple Margarita

Now unfortunately – I have not been able to make a Pina Colada that I actually really like the taste of *cries*.. BUT I have an amazing Pineapple Margarita that you can try in the meantime ! I WILL make the perfect Pina Colada. For now though – hope you enjoy the Margarita guys.

2 cups fresh pineapple – chopped up

1/4 cup lime juice

1/2 cup pineapple juice

1/4 cup orange juice

2 tbsp simple syrup

2 cups of ice

Lemon & pineapple to garnish

FYI – Makes around 5-6 servings

Add all the ingredients (except the lemon & pineapple that are to garnish) to a blender and blend well. Rim the glass with lemon & dip in sugar. Pour drink in & add a slice of pineapple or orange for decoration. And THAT’S IT.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So there we have it. 3 VERY easy mocktail recipes for you to enjoy during the summer – or any time of year that you fancy. These drinks have been so much fun to make and really are the best thing to have on a hot, summer evening. Make sure to let me know if you try any of these!

p6181010.jpg

I’m working on experimenting with a few more ingredients, so if you enjoyed this post let me know and I’ll definitely share some more drinks with you!

For now – I’m going to let you enjoy the rest of these sunny days we’re having in the UK at the moment, and will see you all in my next post!

Lots of love,

Saira

Xx

6 thoughts on “THE YUMMIEST MOCKTAILS

  1. Thank you for sharing these! I’m all into smoothies and blending and experimenting right now, so cocktails will be a perfect addition πŸ˜€ I already know my brother and me will have so much fun doing these! The only one I personally won’t be doing is pineapple one cause I hate pineapple haha
    thanks again

    xo Honey – blog Royal LifestyleTwitterInstagram

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww Saira I’m so glad you put up a post like this as I don’t drink – except for certain events/things like weddings – so I’m practically teetotal and always feel like I miss out on fun things like these as I’m not a fan of the taste of alcohol at all, and always end up with soda, so this is a real lifesaver of a post for me, and will definitely have to try some of these out! I love the sound of the strawberry daiquiri! A great post. – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is one drink I’ve always wanted to learn how to make, and that’s virgin mojito! Thank you so much my sweet babe for sharing the recipe and other incredible recipes woohoo!!!!! ❀
    I am not into drinking alcohol so a mocktail sounds like something up my street πŸ˜‰
    Plus, now that the warm weather is back, there are more reasons to enjoy these!!!
    Hope you're having a lovely weekend, sweetie!
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

