How To Motivate Yourself To Blog

Do you ever get those days where you want to sit down and write down all the blog posts you have in mind – but it just does not happen. No matter how much you want to, the words just don’t come. Your motivation is non existent, and everything else just seems so distracting. You spend hours scrolling through the internet, watching cat videos & conspiracy theories (ahem, not me), but you know you should be typing up that review of your new makeup brushes…

Now – in the (almost) 2 years I’ve been blogging (wow has it been that long?!), I have found that certain things really help me get in the right blogging mind, not just the inspiration side but also writing. Of course – whenever I find certain things that help me blogwise -it’s always a good idea to share them. I know that most bloggers go through the same thing (we rant about it on Twitter all the time right guys) – so ya gal here as got some things that can help you feel inspired & motivated when you are in a bit of a slump.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have a blog set up

For some people, they can find the inspiration to write anywhere – whether that is on the bus/train, on their lunch break or on the sofa whilst watching TV. For me – I need a proper set up. I’m talking cosy pillows & blankets, a cuppa & plenty of candles & fairy lights. Even in the summer, I love having candles & a warm drink. I find just being in this sort of chilled environment helps me stay motivated and want to write. It also inspires me to come up with ideas too. If I’m ever feeling a little lost for ideas, I just get in my cosy environment & think about the things that have effected me recently & what I’ve been loving – and some ideas always spring into my head !

Pinterest is your SAVIOUR

Pinterest has so many ideas & inspiration – if I’m ever stuck for ideas I always have a trawl through Pinterest. Whether it is inspo for some post ideas or blog/Instagram shots – Pinterest always has something to help. Plus – making season themed boards is SO much fun – have you SEEN the Autumn ones?!

Sometimes your thoughts/feelings are the best posts

For a while, I’d only feel motivated to blog if I had new beauty products/an interesting, hot topic to post about – simply because I felt like that was what brought in the most views. This eventually made me stress out when I didn’t have anything ‘exciting’ to post about. Then one day – I just literally sat down & wrote a whole blog post about everything that was on my mind. It was almost like a diary entry – and I posted it – and not only did it get a good response, but I felt like a massive weight had been lifted off my shoulders too. I actually LOVE reading personal, diary-like blog posts too – I think they help you really connect with the blogger too. So, don’t feel disheartened if you don’t have any new products to talk about – your thoughts are enough loves.

Read other blogs & gain inspirationΒ 

Now – I’m not saying go and copy another bloggers post idea – they probably worked their ass off to not only come up with the idea, but to put the whole thing together. But – getting inspiration from other blog posts is definitely a way to motivate yourself and get some ideas. I always feel so out of the loop when I don’t read other blogs, so I always make sure I set aside some time every few days to have a scroll through my fave blogs. Funnily enough – I always find I miss writing blog posts when I read others – so that always helps me get motivated!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly – blog for YOURSELF & because you LOVE it

Sometimes – no matter what you do – the words/motivation just don’t come to you. If this happens to me, I find taking a few days out really helps. This usually leads me to find inspiration and realise how much I miss blogging. Also – blog because you LOVE to, not because you’re trying to get the next PR package or some extra followers. Blogging is so much fun & it should be something that you do to relax & unwind – but if it is becoming something that stresses you, it’s time to take a few days out. Trust me – you will come back feeling more motivated than ever!

There we have it – a few little pointers that I always find help motivate and inspire me to write when I am having one of those rubbish, slump moments with my blog. If you have other tips you use – make sure to let me know !

Guys – I can’t even tell you how excited I am for the next few months – it is almost AUTUMN – I am already planning my “reasons to be excited for Autumn” post – as well as some other content. I have a few Summer themed posts coming up – then it is ALL about Autumn (how many times did I say Autumn then!?).

Take care m’loves – and I will see you all in my next post!

Love, Saira x

17 thoughts on “How To Motivate Yourself To Blog

  1. I definitely needed to read this! I’ve been majorly lacking in blogging motivation this month, but with a couple of up coming trips and decorating my spare room, to include a work space, I’m hoping I’ll get back on it. Also I couldn’t agree more that reading some of my favourite blogs a couple of times a week is a great way to get motivated.

    Emma x
    https://emmasjoys.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    I liked your tips. My blog is set up with water and sugar free gum. I never even thought about it until I read your article.
    As far as not being in the mood to write, I have written about writers block often and will do so again next weekend. I never thought of Pinterest!
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sweetie, that is such a fabulous post!! I couldn’t agree more with every single point. Sometimes we all hit that wall and just can’t squeeze a single word out. But I am so like you! I need a special set-up or I can’t do anything. Also, I absolutely can’t write in the morning or in the afternoon. Only after 8ish p.m. And everything around has to be tidy and it has to be quiet πŸ™‚
    You’re so right about personal/chatty/thoughts post, honey. When you sit down to write down, the words just flow. I also found that I blog easier and enjoy it a lot when I tell myself to stop being a perfectionist. Whenever I work on a blog post for 3+ days, I know it’s time to let it go and just post it πŸ™‚
    As always, such a lovely read, my darling ❀ ❀ ❀
    xox Nadia
    http://www.mielandmint.com

    Like

  4. I totally agree with you. Been blogging since 2011, and I feel like I lack of motivation still, not to mention that being at Uni has got me so busy yet I find myself blogging from time to time when I can. I’ve always found inspiration everywhere but lately I feel like my instagram, tumblr and pinterest feed have helped me a lot to create and share great content, by this I mean more visual (photo and editing) but also I notice my writting has improved as I’ve set myself some goals and I also try my best to stick to a schedule. So far so good! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing your tips, I could go on but I’ll leave it like that! Hope you have a wonderful day and happy weekend!
    XO, Melissa

    Like

Leave a Reply

